Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bounce-Charge

by D3zmodos - Jam Entry

A simple game where you hit a ball/disc/circle around in an attempt to destroy your opponents.
For the theme I was trying to get in some angle where you're "growing" because the pickups make you "stronger", so you hit harder...ye I know it was a bit of a long shot :P

Controls:
- WASD to move
- Space to shoot/swing/hit/whateveryouwanttocallit (note that you don't need to be facing the disc to hit it, as long as it's close enough)

It didn't turn out quite as well as well as I'd hoped (I wasted a lot of time trying to add visual effects that didn't ever work out/get used, life got in the way, didn't get round to audio etc) but at least the AI worked out reasonably, its pretty hard! (Probably too hard but oh well)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#896Innovation(Jam)2.50
#984Graphics(Jam)2.17
#985Fun(Jam)2.44
#1050Overall(Jam)2.56
#1086Theme(Jam)2.17
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

GagaPete says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50am

Interesting game. May could've used more effort in the AI since key are pretty simple targets when they flee to the edges but tough game nontheless.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Nice game. This could be pretty fun as a multiplayer game.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Reminds me a little of air hockey and dodge ball. Your game is pretty interesting, those a GagaPete the AI is simple (but hey, good AI takes a lot of time to write and no one in the competition has time).

The only thing that really confused me was how to determine when a could grab the puck vs. when it would smash in and hit me. I'm guessing it was speed vs. my strength (augmented by the power ups), but I couldn't really tell. If that was the case, having the puck change colors when it was able to be caught would be helpful.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Interesting concept. It's a shame you didn't flesh it out more :/

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Neat. This was really stretching the growth concept though-- regardless its a cool concept. I played the 34 bit and the resolution/map size is kinda small for this kinda AI combat with 4 other opponents. Consider making the map bigger/putting some obstacles/things to hide behind maybe? Interesting idea though.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

It was quite hard to get the hang of at first, and only 1 AI seemed to work properly, the other ones just went straight into a corner. I liked the idea behind it but the execution could have been better (as you said, you wasted a lot of time on visual effects)

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:35pm

the concept is quite good, it sadly lacks some little polish, sounds, music...

Blobby101 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Pretty fun! Agree with Move127, it could be really good with multiplayer.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]