Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

G.R.O.W.I.N.G

by Grouflon - Compo Entry

Grab a friend and help your Gigantic Reversible Ovoid With Incredible Natural Grip to coordinate his limbs and travel the world.

G.R.O.W.I.N.G is a 2 player cooperative game for mobile.
both players plays on the same device, one on each end.

Good Luck :3

Controls :
- the left button controls the arm rotation.
- the right button grips to the walls.

Installation :
Just go to the Android link from your mobile, the game will download and install automatically. Then you'll have to authorize softwares from unknown sources.

PS:
I highly recommend to play this on mobile, however you can also download the PC version.
PC Cotnrols:
- S/D : Rotate left arm
- F : Grab with left arm
- K/L : Rotate right arm
- J : Grab with right arm

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Innovation3.83
#315Graphics3.41
#412Fun3.24
#536Overall3.17
#598Mood2.80
#835Theme3.17
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44am

Very challenging on a PC, but you did say it was meant for mobile, so well done ^_^

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Played on mobile with a friend, very solid graphics, entertaining controls. Tough to get the hang of, there doesn't seem to be a noticeable correlation between the input and the direction that the legs move. Sound would have been nice. Like I said, great graphics, incredible entry. Well done!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Actually pretty good playable solo on my 1+ One. Can't wait to try it with a fried.
Graphics are a bit glitchy, some magenta stuff flickering outside the map, but apart from that, nice job!

Xgor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Very intresring game. I know you wanted a monocrome game but it would have been really useful if the legs and buttons was in different colors so you knew where what button affects what leg all the time without trial and error.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Looks very pretty, a bit hard on pc though

Dayko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Very nice entry ! Could be a cool QWOP-like. Didn't play it on mobile but it feels like the physics is not fully ready yet (also, i don't understand if the "stick" key is actually supposed to grip on nothing)

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:37pm

very interesting mechanic, took a little bit to get the hang of it, which is not a bad thing for this type of game, very fun and challenging, nice aesthetic too

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Weird. Amazing physics and mechanics, but it's really to hard to play on a PC. I will test your project on a mobile device soon. Overall, a good entry ++

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Tested this on my Android tablet on my own. Shame there's no sound but I liked the mechanics.

OwT says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:20am

It was really good. Hard to understand what all the controls do and how to even use them... but after a while it became pretty intuitive. It has some glitches. Some sound would add a lot to this whole experience too :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]