Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Saneedling

by commanderstitch - Compo Entry

So, here's Saneedling.

It's okay!

note: you can mute the music by clicking "m".

how to play:

phase 1: use the mouse to plant your seed.
PICK GOOD GROUND. that's your hint.
if you pick right the seed will grow and you can advance.
if not you lose.
this is the general premise.
phase 2:
same as part one.
part2: wasd to move.

for such a simple game, i'm surprised at the number of complexities i ran into while making it. Most of them having to do with getting animation timing down.

things that i personally like:
the main menu.
the growth bar.
the menu music.
the game music.
the burst animation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Humor2.84
#278Audio3.09
#548Innovation3.05
#656Theme3.52
#685Mood2.67
#686Fun2.86
#804Graphics2.41
#805Overall2.81
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

I don't know what just happened to me.

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:37am

I'm quite confused about this game... is there something that indicates what the "right" seed is?

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:40am

I love the sound effects! Love the music! Completely bemused by the premise!

I don't really understand the game but that doesn't mean I didn't enjoy it! High score 2260.

utoxin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:06am

I couldn't figure out what the guidelines for seed planting were. But... it seemed to at least work, as far as the animation cycle and stuff was concerned. Some in-game guidance would be good, for the first seed or two.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:11am

I'm uh ... not sure what's going on but I managed to win, I think? I ate everything :)

I feel like planting the seed was really trial and error and that wasn't really fun. I guess I don't know why it was wrong or why it was right when I did get it right.

Either way, not bad!

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:21am

Hehe, I ate everything! Very nice game. It was cool watching your timelapse and then playing the game. The twist in the game really caught me off guard. Well done!

Mantlair says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Music was cute. I just happen to a=undertand nothing about gameplay so im just voting Audio/Graphics now. if you explain it on somewhere i may check it again.

alyphen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:05am

That was a really weird experience. The seed planting seemed to make sense - but I don't know why the first and second phases were separate - they just seemed to do the same thing, and the first phase seemed meaningless.
Eating everything was quite the twist.

cardboard says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:07am

Wonderfully charming game, even moreso than usual, thanks to the great music. The gameplay was enjoyable. I wasn't sure what the difference between phases one and two were, but both growing a seed and eating everything were fun, and especially the latter. Great game as always, with lots of heart :D

zulman says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:32pm

It wasn't clear how to decide which type of ground is right for the seed. So I played several times, watched how plant grows and then the game over screen pop out. Once I chose the right ground, but failed at the second phase. The game mechanics is not clear at all. However, the music and animations are nice.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:34am

i saw your timelapse video, good to see.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:12am

everything happened too fast, I couldn't help it. I tried to do something about the problem but it was already too late. Good job on the game

drinkadriu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:56am

Great game love it ?

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:37pm

The game is a bit confusing but you have worked a lot and I'm sure than in next jams you will improve a lot, keep learning and making games. Nice entry! :-)

Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:47pm

I would love to see this expanded into an RPG with a story. Great fun, shame its not a full game - I suspect you fell into the old trap of over complicating the coding and not doing enough game - given that its basically a top down walking around game in its current state.

The vocals of the "plant" made me laugh as I walked around at ate everything including trees, rocks, and a bridge.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:51am

speciesUnknown gets the awesomest comment award ever.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]