Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sad Gorilla Boy

by bitwise-constructs - Jam Entry

Lead a sad gorilla boy to a fruit stash. Control the environment by pressing 'A' to decay it and 'D' to grow it. Stay cool out there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Theme(Jam)4.38
#79Innovation(Jam)3.86
#87Graphics(Jam)4.35
#227Mood(Jam)3.60
#276Audio(Jam)3.45
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#573Fun(Jam)3.09
#624Humor(Jam)2.47
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

ryofougere says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:25am

great style

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:42am

Damn, GREAT idea for two-button controls. The overall aesthetic was very weird and off-putting, but I guess that's what you were going for. Anyways, good job, wish it was longer.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:47am

Well, i had to say its a nice game, but lacks of feedback in some things. I keepts 3 mins ath third level wondering why i was purple and why it keeps happening. Then i realized it was the mushroom.

Still a good game, this is just an observation c:
great work on art!

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:59am

Very nice! I liked the mechanic and the art style.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:00am

Amazing style. I do suggest making the purple more clear around the mushroom. I wish it was longer!

thelasthour says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:21am

That was great. The graphics and music were awesome and I loved the effects on the music when you changed the environment. Please keep working on this game. It's very promising.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:38am

I liked it! The music's a bit psychedelic, but it definitely fits in with the mood of the game, so no arguments here. :P
The graphics were pleasant and complimented the core mechanic well.
Both the themes were well integrated, properly built into the design and functioned well in unison. Good job! ^^

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:37am

Couldn't beat mushroom level

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:51am

Looks cool, but too short and strange music speed on environment change.
GJ!

suppi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:00am

I really liked the idea and style of the game. The music was OK but the change of pitch when growing/decaying was not so easy on the ears. I also didn't really understand why I got through in the last level.

Good job! It's a very cute game.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:13am

Cool graphics, they're a nice change of pace. Needs some more feedback of cause/effect. Nice job.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Really love the overall aesthetic. The changing of the environment/ music is done really well.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:41pm

A short game but a lovely art.

Sean says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:11am

Cool game, although I didn't understand the mushroom cloud bit at first.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]