Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

CLON

by Boberro - Compo Entry

Local multiplayer clone of TRON. For 2 to 4 players.

Move forward, leaving the trail of mines behind you. That's all - leave crashing into the mines and walls to the enemy.

Controls
Player 1: A - D
Player 2: Left - Right
Player 3: J - L
Player 4: Num4 - Num6

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#169Audio3.40
#297Fun3.40
#365Mood3.13
#456Graphics3.14
#456Overall3.26
#541Theme3.66
#556Humor2.22
#932Innovation1.89

Comments

George says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Yay tron! Very nicely made, hope you had fun learning the uNet stuff - I found it tricky to sync some stuff!

Boberro says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:24pm

oh, that screenshot lies - I have commented out online game code.

Kapura says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Nice execution of a Tron game. I really dug the music too.

Jordan Kniest says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:47pm

11/10.. nice music.. nice graphics and nice gameplay :)

SayRafon says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:01pm

A coop game ! The music is cool (the game too) ^^

icereci says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Cool music. Nice light cycle clone. Kudos to the name "Clon"

mxjones says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Great idea, music was really good. The art style was simple and I like the glow effect. Fun game to play, good job!

madcoil says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Nice! The music rules.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Awesome Lightcycle game. Reminds me of the old ArmageddTRON game.

great, now I want to go play that again :)

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Nice and sleek, but i feel like it was a rip-off :/

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Great Fun with friends.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:00am

Great music, nice gameplay!

davidB says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Nice music, I prefer wall to ball for a Tron like. Well done for the mutliplayer and split screen.

vortex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Love the name!

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Ah ah ah, effectively, tron is the best interpretation of the both theme :D

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07am

nice music and graphics. great name, controls are spot on.

OddballDave says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Ah, the classic light cycles. It's a decent version too. Good stuff.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:31am

I love tron. Pretty well executed and cool graphics.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Good entry!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Good execution of a classic. The 5-second survival requirement after your opponent dies is a thoughtful addition.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:21pm

That's some mighty nice Tron. It is possible to pass through lines now and then but eh. Music fits the mood. Good stuff.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:08pm

I can't play the game, the links are broken!

Boberro says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:47am

@Galvesmash maybe it was a downtime. All links should work.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:19am

Nice music!

gregtruc says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:25pm

It is Really well made. Plus, it is simple enough,with a good music and a nice speed for the players. It could have been interesting to put other maps.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:49am

Links don't seem to be working again.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]