Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Coalesce

by alyphen - Compo Entry

===============================================================
POST-COMPO NOTICE

Thanks for playing coalesce!

I have now shut down the server for coalesce. After a few patches, it reached a state where it could run for indefinite periods of time with no severe consequences. However, the server it runs on is often used for other games, and so to save on resources, since the judging period is over, I have shut down the server.

However, if you still wish to play coalesce, the source code for the client & server is on GitHub at https://github.com/alyphen/coalesce

The client is set by default to connect to localhost in the latest version of the source. Edit the file https://github.com/alyphen/coalesce/blob/master/core/src/com/seventh_root/coalesce/NetworkManager.java and change this to whatever server you want to access, then run the gradlew script in the root folder with the argument "build" to create compiled JARs in the /build/libs folders for each module.

The server must be able to connect to a mysql server specified in config.json (which is created when the server starts for the first time). You must have created the tables. For the SQL to do so, please see https://gist.github.com/alyphen/a03a4fd82077fc43964d

I've released the source under the Apache License (v2) so please do as you wish.
Have fun!
===============================================================

Latest server version: 1.4
Latest client version: 1.1

Coalesce is a multiplayer game about absorbing blobs to grow bigger, with a risk/reward system of boosting and jumping along a track.

Controls:
Keyboard: W to jump, D to boost OR Up to jump, Right to boost
XBox 360 gamepad: A to jump, X to boost
PlayStation gamepad: Triangle to jump, Cross to boost? Haven't tested, could be wrong

Logging in for the first time will create an account. Note down your password, you will need it to log in to that account again!

You have a matchmaking rating of 1500 when you start playing. This will go up and down based on who you play against. A variation of the Glicko2 ranking system is used. The longer you wait, the more people are considered.

Tracks are randomly generated and symmetrical. You always play on the blue track, while your opponent is on the red track. You play for as long as the music continues.


Native versions:
Windows amd64 - https://seventh-root.com/downloads/ld34/1.1/coalesce-win64.zip
Windows i586 - https://seventh-root.com/downloads/ld34/1.1/coalesce-win32.zip
Mac - https://seventh-root.com/downloads/ld34/1.1/coalesce-mac.zip
Linux amd64 - https://seventh-root.com/downloads/ld34/1.1/coalesce-linux64.zip
Linux i586 - https://seventh-root.com/downloads/ld34/1.1/coalesce-linux32.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#45Audio3.90
#170Mood3.48
#459Humor2.41
#557Innovation3.04
#558Graphics2.96
#591Overall3.11
#768Theme3.32
#877Fun2.41

Comments

maartene says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

no other players available for matchmaking unfortunately.

Graydom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

Everything about the game looked good, but it just wasn't very fun. The music is amazing the atmosphere was amazing, but It wasn't a fun game.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I got error connecting to the server. Maybe it's the universities port limitation.. Will vote at home.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Very ambitious making MP with matchmaking for LD, lovely graphics, atmosphere, and the keyboard jam is groovy too.

I had one game but then got disconnected and couldn't reconnect until I reloaded. Sadly, no more matches were found :( It was a bit difficult to figure out exactly what was going on and what effect my controls were having.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Very good game

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19pm

I get the following crash immediately after launching on OS X:
http://pastebin.com/C5YywrJ5

terop says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24pm

I had some problems with searching for other players, it kept searching forever, never finding anyone... But the music was nice, and the menus looked polished. Maybe I'll try it later with better luck with finding people to play against.

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Left it up for some time but didn't get any matches. I'll try later so that I can rate the game.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Couldn't find anyone to play, so no vote from me.
The lobby music was nice and the UI was pretty, tho.

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54pm

I got to try it locally. Very atmospheric.
Well done!

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Coudln't find a match unfortunately :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Interesting game, found the fact that we weren't the same characters confusing. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/G4-JCtlxKuU

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17am

I get a login unsuccessful message :( Shame because I really wanna play!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:04am

On start I can see the "connected" word displayed, but it displays "Login unsuccessful" when I attempt login the first time, and subsequent times too.

The game description sounds intriguing though!

sbot1101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:42am

Just continues "Searching...". Good menu music though haha

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Can't play :(

Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:35am

Unfortunately there were no other players available.

Karatorian says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:05am

So, getting stuck waiting in matchmaking is a thing...

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:45am

Had the same problem with matchmaking. I'll try it again later

phi says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:55am

Great mood, good music and visuals, multiplayer works fine, only with small hickups. The objective is not very clear, the game ended very suddenly and without any user feedback.
Extra cred for making an online multiplayer, though! And a built-in chat is always a nice touch. :)

zulman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Unable to find a match :( But love the music)

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:08pm

nic
nice gamee game

AzureAspect says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:12pm

I too was stuck with the searching for ranked games, but then I just decided to start another instance of game and play against "myself".
I wasnt very sure what I was supposed to do though. I kept growing the other ball, which did get very big indeed, but the other "me" was just zooming very fast to the right since he was small all the time. Is there some way to win/lose in the game?

YinYin says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:01am

I couldn't see the blue line I got placed on at all.
And I have no clue why you did not prioritize a single player mode for this. It would be perfectly playable alone. Even some basic AI could easily be thrown in if you really need another ball eating away blobs.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]