Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jack

by PixelMonkey - Jam Entry

Description:
We’ve all had one of those days where we wake up in a cold, abandoned cave with nothing but a bucket and the clothes on our back. Best thing to do is probably to try watering those plants lying around the caves!

Controls:

WASD, Arrows, or Left Analog Stick for movement
Spacebar, W, Z, Up or (A) Button to jump
X, Left Mouse Button, or (X) Button to throw water
C, Right Mouse Button, or (B) Button to grab/pull blocks and toggle levers

NOTE: We've had some pretty significant last minute issues with the game running significantly differently than expected after exporting, as well as inconsistencies between browsers. Apologies if you're affected by this, I'll try and figure out if there's anything I can do to fix it.

UPDATE:
I've uploaded a slightly more fixed version, where I removed a game-ending bug from a level, added control instructions from this page to the title screen, and fixed a spelling error in the credits (sorry about that Rhys).
I don't believe the changes are significant enough to label this as a post-compo version or anything, but I'm leaving the first build up regardless.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#547Audio(Jam)2.94
#738Mood(Jam)2.94
#782Graphics(Jam)2.90
#830Theme(Jam)3.25
#853Innovation(Jam)2.60
#993Overall(Jam)2.70
#997Fun(Jam)2.40
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47am

Uuuuh... I seem to be stuck on the first level. Every time I escape, it just resets the level...

JanGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Nice game, it took me a while to get the idea. Intructions on the screen at least for basic controls and gameplay would have been nice.

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29am

@justinooncx:
Really sorry about that, Construct 2 seems to have decided that it doesn't like me. I can't get it consistently behave OR misbehave, making this issue difficult to troubleshoot. While I'm not sure whether it will help, what browser (and version of) are you using?

fafastudio says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Too bad there is only 1 level (at least playable)
First time i launched the game, i got stuck in the bounds and it made me feel like in a ununderstanding speedrun xD

Anyway, the concept is very interesting, i loved how you try to make a puzzle game.
And the music is very nice !

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:17pm

cool pixels

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:29pm

@fafastudio:
Sounds like you've got the same issue as justinooncx. I'm trying to figure out what the problem could be but I'm not having much luck. Thanks for the feedback regardless!

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Nice platformer! I can see your team must have put a lot of effort in to get all of those mechanics working together. With how much the bucket leaks, I was expecting there to be a timer with how long I had to throw the water at first. I think that could add an interested element to the game as well. Nice music as well, although some more sound effects would have really added to the overall experience.

jonask says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:52pm

This is too buggy to play.

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:55pm

@jonask:
Indeed, it seems like things have fallen into the two camps of "Runs as intended with no obvious issues" or "Simply doesn't work", seemingly arbitrarily. What browser and OS are you using?
@AndyBrown:
Thanks! The bucket leaking could be an interesting mechanic, actually. As it is the only reason there's such an abundance of particles is that we ran out of time to draw 2 sets of sprites, and so drawing a character with a bucket you couldn't see inside and overlaying water particles was the simpler option.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:30am

I seem to be playing the first level over and over for some reason as well (Playing on Firefox/Windows) but the water bucket was actually interesting.

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:38pm

decent mechanics. ground texture in background hurts eyes after a while and platforms are hardly visible on it. good entry.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:45pm

The original version won't let me exit level 2 and the updated one has the issue you mentioned where levels restart when exited, sometimes. Taking a quick look at the files in your project I see that the levelOrder.txt file looks rather weird and also in a few of you levelX.txt files there seems to be text prepended of file paths, see e.g. level11.txt. I would clean up your data and upload it once you're sure the data is in order.

I do like your music though and the idea seems nice.

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:34am

@zenmumbler:
Ah, nice catch! Thanks for looking into that, I've cleaned up the levelX files. levelOrder is actually correct as far as I can tell. What's interesting is that I made no attempt between the original and updated builds to address the level transition issues, as I had no idea what the problem was, and so even between versions that should be identical in that regard it's not being consistent.

g12345 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:02am

I really can't say much about the game. Almost every room transition went to a wrong room, or to a room I've previously had finished.

The very few puzzles I've played had some good ideas but it's not fun yet. (note: I'm playing the Original Version)

EDIT: I just played the Updated version and the only thing I can do there is doing the same room over and over again.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]