Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vine

by dvdking - Compo Entry

A game about failed government experiment.
Vine is taking over the world, you are trying to escape.

Controls: Left, Right.



H: is for progress
The game has the ending.

Created using unity.


14.12.2015: added bug fixes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#71Fun3.84
#202Overall3.62
#325Humor2.71
#373Mood3.12
#397Audio2.81
#402Innovation3.27
#461Theme3.76
#551Graphics2.97

Comments

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

nice game. controls and concept worked well

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:58am

I like it :)

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20am

Awesome! I thought the controls were bad at first but then I realized they just leave a lot of room for getting better at it, which I did over a few plays. Nice game!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40am

Nice concept!

tphx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18am

Very fun game. I really enjoyed it. The win screen and animation really surprised me.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Awesome.

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Windows only sigh, would have loved to try it :/

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Nice! The visuals and gameplay are very well made, good job.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Michael Bay is that you?

Super fun game. I loved everything bout it. Nice implementation of the theme (and using the other one as setting). Fun gameplay, crude graphics but amazing visuals and camera, nice variety of enemies and obstacles. I loved it. I really want this to win something. My only complaints are that the music is too high pitched and repetitive, and some fuel cans are unreachable too often.

The ending was top-tier.

Harsay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Me at the beginning: Meh
Me at the rest of time: WOT!? ROCKETS!? YOU FOKIN WOT!? LAZORS!? BOMBS!? DAT MOVEMENT! OH MY GAWD.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Awesome! I like the crashing effects and the death explosion!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Yeah! I finished it! Really smooth mechanics and sounds!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Unlike many games, this one is immediatly fun and not to hard, not much innovation here but simple and fun game! great job!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Looks super cheap yet feels really nice to play. Awesome effects and gotta love the screenshake and screen swaying!

logorrhea says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:48am

I actually really liked this one! The controls were tight, though not easy to master at first. There were a good variety of obstacles, and it always kept you on your toes.

And I had a good laugh at the ending :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Oh man, this game is so hectic it's amazing. The way the controls and camera movement feel really puts this one over the top - great job!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Such rich gameplay in so small game. And the emotions. Airstrike of epic proportion. 5/5 on Michael Bay scale.

Do you have twitter/itch.io to follow?

dvdking says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:37pm

dx0ne, I have twitter, but not really using it, so unfortunately the best place to follow is ludumdare)

knason says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Yey! this was awesome! At first I thought this must be the hardest game ever but then I was hit by a rocket and needed to play again and again and again. :)

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Very fun to play this entry. Hard controls, but in a good way. Something not very easy to achieve. It would have been nice with some sense of progression (how far up the level one had gotten) or if it is an eternal runner kind of game, just the altitude (including high-score). Also, I would suggest adding a way to exit the game nicely when running it it fullscreen (esc to pause and in pause mode ability to close).

torcado194 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:31pm

really fun!

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Nice game. Smooth controls, the way the helicopter moves makes it feel a bit odd but you get used to it. I loved the missiles coming down, it looked cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]