Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Killer Bee

by bob_fish - Jam Entry

You are a sunflower who wishes to grow as high as possible. However there are annoying bees who wish to hinder your progress. Can you reach space?

Tested and runs fully in Chrome, may not run in other browsers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Theme(Jam)4.15
#383Humor(Jam)2.88
#532Fun(Jam)3.14
#798Graphics(Jam)2.86
#847Overall(Jam)2.95
#883Mood(Jam)2.60
#919Innovation(Jam)2.43
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18am

I think the game idea is great and the main mechanics are well implemented. However, the way the bees appear make it a bit unfair for the player to avoid them.

I also think the game would benefit from a consistent visual style and some tweaks here and there. But I already said all of this on the stream. Good job!

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Not a bad idea, seen a few games like it this jam (not that you copied somebody, it is just a common design premise). I think if bees were a bit more common and maybe if they shift directions or something like that, it would have been better but over all not too bad.

Split82 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:47pm

5900 my highscore! :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:52pm

LLRRLLRR forever for the win! Well, I only got to 4600, but it was good while it lasted. I see you didn't make the music but you did a good job selecting the sfx and bgm. Nice work.

mnill says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:09am

Funny :-)
Need some hight score functionality, like in my game :-0

freaknarf says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:34am

Nice addictive mouse-mashing game :)
I've tried a bunch dozen times to reach space but i could not beat 4700m :) Those lasts bees are angry...
Cool and simple mechanic, this works nice!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:43am

Decent game, but it didn't really have much to it. It was nice to see the background change, but I never really tried that hard in the game as it felt like it was almost entirely luck-based.

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Quite enjoyed the game, I think it would have been nice to see some stars (unless you do get some, I only got to 4200 odd meters) when you got so far as it felt like the sunflower was growing into space :) You could have then added different enemies to then too :)

Also runs fine in Microsoft Edge btw :)

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:17pm

The music, graphics and sounds play nice together!

acotis says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Uhh...bees kill the flower? Aside from that bit of nonsense (:P) a cool game, though it could do with some visual tweaks and BG music, as others have said. I also would have liked to see a little less randomness in the way the bees appear, to make it more fair. I did like that the flower grows multiple METERS per growth, though; that was funny.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]