Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growth

by Cherno - Compo Entry

Growth is a game made by Yan Chernikov for the 34th Ludum Dare competition. The entire game was made in around 12 hours.

Ludum Dare 34 had a tie between two themes: "Two Button Controls" and "Growth". I chose to incorporate both themes into this game, because they seemed to compliment each other nicely.

Use the left and right arrow keys (two buttons!) to guide your growing plant to victory. Try and get the highest score possible, and then brag about it to your friends. Or if you don't have any friends, you can tweet your high score to me @TheCherno, and I'll be your friend.

Music was made by me in around 40 minutes from conception to completion, which has to be some kind of record. You can find it here: https://soundcloud.com/thecherno/growth-ludum-dare-34

You can find me via the links below:

YouTube: http://youtube.com/TheChernoProject
Twitter: http://twitter.com/TheCherno
Facebook: http://facebook.com/TheCherno

The development of the game from start to finish was streamed live on http://twitch.tv/TheCherno

Thanks for playing! <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Audio4.14
#66Theme4.28
#169Overall3.68
#285Fun3.42
#302Mood3.24
#352Innovation3.37
#413Humor2.50
#460Graphics3.13
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I really like this (once I figured it out) and played it quite a few times. Cool tunes too. Good concept!

greenscreen says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:30pm

x100 better than the last one. Java was a good choice :)

Abominas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

high score 18443!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56am

It's hard to get the hang of, but it's a great game with nice visuals and audio.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

Couldn't run, a java exception occurred on boot. Running Windows 7, 64 bit.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00am

Nice game. Simple but fun.

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

Here I was thinking I had a shot at having some of the better audio... then I came across this...

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

Interesting game! The unpredictable/forced movement makes it interesting in an "auto-runner" type game! nice work!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03am

Fun concept! Got a little annoyed at the controls at first.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04am

This game takes a lesson out of the pages of Super Hexagon: Have a superb soundtrack. Make trying to guide an out of control plant fun.

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

Simple, yet fun and a challenge, and with good music! Great work Cherno

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12am

Cool game, I did play it for 5 minutes and get high score of 11083. Haha

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11am

Controls were a little tricky to get used to, but overall, it's a simple and fun game. The lighting looks good for pure java, and the audio for your games is amazing like always. I enjoyed watching bits of the stream while I was making my game. :)

Gunn3rboi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57am

Great fun game, smooth gameplay nice art and great music, good job.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Cool game, not sure I was very good at it though.

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Awesome game play!!! What did u use for the curves?

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Great game, I really had fun with it ! And well done with the growing plant, I'll definitely dive into the source to see the magic when I have the chance.

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Good music and the plant animation is very cool. The gameplay is kind of meh.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

It felt a bit strange at first, but for some reason the simplicity of everything is great, and it looked and felt quite nice. Great music, too!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Pretty good music. Controls were a bit shaky but I suppose this was intended. Overall this game is a fun game to play.

alek345 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Really great. It's really simple but still fun. Good job!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Solid game, at first i wasn't able to control plant very well but after few tries i got grasp on it. Pretty fun game to play, could be easily imported to mobile devices, think about it ;)

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Addicting game, it was very fun to play. The music was amazing. Especially considering it was composed in only 40 minutes. Great job!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Great entry Cherno! Loved the music and the vine effects, was a bit sceptical of it being a Java game but I already know you work incredibly well in the language. Great stuff!

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:46am

Wow, very addicting! Got high scores of 66965. Love the music Cherno!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]