Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Haighstrom's Tug of War

by Haighstrom - Compo Entry

A tug-of-war tower-defence type of game, inspired by Starcraft's economy/tech/units interactions. It's a bit like rock/paper/scissors.

Based on both themes (Growing & Two Button Controls).

How to play:
You win by getting one of your units to attack the enemy's flag.

Your only influence on the game is switching your town's focus between Economy, Military and Science.

You can only switch focus in the "CHOOSE" phase. Whatever you have highlighted when the CHOOSE phase ends is what you'll build when the WAIT phase ends (if you have enough money).

Economy - produces an extra worker (who will start gathering more money)
Military - produces a unit (who will head out to attack the enemy)
Science - upgrades your units to be stronger (they will be more expensive too though)

Controls:
Player 1: Z/X - cycle production
Player 2: N/M - cycle production
Spacebar to start
Escape to reset.

You can play with 1, 2, or even zero players - just switch between HUMAN and CPU on the first screen using the buttons shown. The game is most fun in 2 Player mode as the CPU is a bit stupid sometimes (it's mostly random), but the computer will give you a decent game once in a while.

Feel free to watch 2 CPU players duke it out so you can get the idea before you play :)

Tips:
-The different resources don't do anything (they all just give you gold). They're just for visual effect :)
-You can keep changing your Town's production during the CHOOSE phase - if you're playing against a friend, change your choice at the last second to get an advantage!
-Money is deducted at the END of the "Wait" phase - so you can start building something you can't afford yet, if you think you will have saved up enough once the time has elapsed. If you can't afford it, you'll lose out on making anything, though, so be careful.
-Unit damage is slightly randomised. I didn't want it to be too easy to figure out an optimal strategy for the game.
-The late-gate science upgrades (6+) basically just double your units' strength. Hopefully this will stop the game stalemating.

I'd love to continue working on this game after the compo, so please let me have your feedback. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:36am

I had a lot of fun with this game! Cute simple graphics, and solid gameplay. Job well done.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Nice little game :)

Fell solid and well done. But it may lack a bit of strategy :P But overall was an enjoyable playthrough (the CPU was very easy to beat)

Kyace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Simple but fun game. Felt deeper than it appears at first glance. I like that you thought to add same-keyboard multiplayer. Might suggest either hiding the option that the AI is choosing or allow the AI to switch options like a human character might (such as switching between a feint option to their real option a second or two before the choose phase runs out).

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

It's got solid gameplay. I was a little confused as to how to play at first, but I'm kind of slow.

Haighstrom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Thanks for the feedback, all! I will definitely work on the AI some more, as I only had time to put something really basic in.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Fun game! Simple mechanics, simple graphics and very smooth gameplay, great job! Any sound effects would have been a great addition, but it's still a fun game that I would like to see expanded! (Also the AI was a bit dumb but that's not really anything to worry about, it's a 48 hour game.) Oh and #TEAMBEARS
As a response to your comment on my game, I don't like the backronym either, I did when I was tired but now... Bleh :P

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:00am

Great game :)

euske says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:01am

I love how it looks complicated at first but really isn't. Great idea, and nice retro-style graphics! I especially liked the second "military" animal. I'd love to play more levels.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:38pm

very nice game i enjoyed a lot playing this game !

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:31pm

simple and clever gameplay. Good balance.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]