Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kowloon Walled City

by Yakka - Compo Entry

Kowloon Walled City was the densest place in the world.

Controls:
* UP to change the selection
* SPACE BAR to build a block

I'm sorry, I didn't find the time to make sounds.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#83Innovation3.91
#157Graphics3.83
#161Theme4.09
#481Overall3.23
#490Mood2.94
#723Fun2.80
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

miwuc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Cool game! Great presentation, it's really cute, and I liked the historical context (I'd never heard of it). I like the concept and it was fun to play.
My only complaint is that I found it hard to remember what each block was doing. The objective was also a bit unclear (I thought I was more in control during my second attempt, but I actually scored less).
Well done!

Yakka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Thank you for playing and for the comment! There was an issue with the score, so I just updated the builds with a fix. But yeah, you're right, the game is still unclear... Not enough time to code proper feedback :-)

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27pm

original cool game

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Really fun, addictive and looks great! If you were to add audio and maybe add some animation that would underline the changes that happen to the city when the player makes their pick, it would be perfect.
Also, it's a great idea to present a city in an abstract form.

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Love the theme of kowloon, and it seems like an interesting concept, but I don't get the objective or what the feedback is on whether i'm doing things right. Would like to play it when more developed though!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Interesting idea and nice art. I didn't realy understand what I had to do to progress and earn money.
Good job though :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:40am

I like the lighting and the concept is interesting but it's pretty confusing to work out out how to actually play this since there's no tutorial.

blubberquark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:55pm

(I think your windows build still has debug files by accident.)

This is a great little puzzle/sim game. I like how it takes SimCity and turns it 90 degrees like walled city.

Your visual design is great in its simplicity.

-bob

123sendodo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:08am

A very strategic and interesting game! I spent a lot of time thinking on how to maximize the score, but the game does depend on luck and it's random

Neil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:53am

Nice mood and presentation. Very slick. UI text is a bit small on higher resolutions. Some visual feedback on scoring or placing blocks will go a long way to helping understand the game better!

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:34pm

I still don"t understand on which ground some item are in the building list or not, but that's a nice game.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:34am

Interesting game, love the topic! I really enjoyed the flat graphics and the overall clean design. It took several tries to understand the game mechanics but after this I really enjoyed playing. Some thoughts: -Random factors to increase replayability would be nice. Some more feedback about what effects are in play on level-by-level basis would make it easier to pick up the game as opposed to the trial and error approach I used in order to figure out how to increase my score from one playthrough to the next.
Overall, well done and very original!

gelisam says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Very innovative, but I felt like the outcome of the game was mostly determined by luck (the set of available blocks is random, right?) and not by my strategy, which ruined it for me.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]