Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Society, Man.

by floppya - Compo Entry

Infinite runner that unpacks socioeconomic dynamics and the role age plays. Spacebar to jump over the expenses, click to make payments on larger items. Grab the cash! The older you get, the faster you can throw around cash. Don't worry, babies still get some walking around money here.

I thought I was making a balloon racing game until halfway through.

Tools Used
----------

* Unity3d/C#
* MakeHuman to generate human meshes
* Blender for animation and modeling of power-ups
* LMMS with default samples/instruments for music
* Audacity for custom sounds and editing
* GIMP for creating/editing textures
* Picture of $20 with phone

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#6Humor4.22
#434Fun3.22
#444Mood3.00
#468Audio2.65
#634Innovation2.89
#650Theme3.53
#709Overall2.97
#749Graphics2.56

Comments

sharpfrog4 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

Love it! Preachin' the truth!

JanGames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:12am

Nice game, controls are a little weird, not sure if the game is eating my input or there is some kind of hidden cooldown.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

Thanks for playing, everyone! I think it's eating the input, sorry about that. Probably something I'm doing wrong with the animation system. This was my first 48hr compo so I learned a lot about pacing.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57am

It's very funny and I can't get the song and the "chi-chin" out of my head :)

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04am

This is how society works.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57am

Hahahah!! Nice concept!! Simple mechanic with deeper meaning! :)

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06am

Beautiful concept and a hilarious entry overall. 5/5 humour.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10am

Hahahaha nice game. Really funny sound effects and concept.
but the spacebar doesn't seem to be working consistently for me. Did you make the human models in the 48 hours?

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:32am

Yeah the input is a bit messed up which is a little disappointing. I generated the human models using MakeHuman and did the animations in blender.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07pm

lol, very funny. well done

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07pm

the truth is out there! very odd game but so much fun! damn credit cards! i love it =D

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Man, good game but now I'm depressed.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39pm

I think you might have deep down problems with the idea of getting old… Still a good game though.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40pm

nice game, though for me there was some collision issues with the jumping. other then that it played fine.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47am

That's what I call social commentary! Pretty interesting game.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37am

Funny idea :D Pacing is a bit tough, I was unable to jump over the "youth" minuses but still cool! Good job!

saucygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:09am

That main menu is 10/10. gg made me laugh.

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:12am

Those student loans sure are horrible! Nice game man!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:33am

nice concept! rly like the starting page and the sounds!
btw.. how to avoid the "-"?

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:10pm

A very funny concept, and fun to play. I like it.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:10am

Well done. Fun to play.

It'd be good to have a timer of how long you were able to survive before going broke.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Love the title and the title screen. Fun concept for a game. The graphics and gameplay are kind of bland, though the "throw money at problems" mechanic is pretty innovative. Might have been nice if the big payment obstacles had a more unique design. The music is okay, kind of grating, but I love the "ka-ching" sound effect.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Story of my life.

LudoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Very deep game, made me laugh, good job

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Neat take on the theme. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EztdlDzFrUE

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]