Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Momma's Little Monster

by dalbinblue - Compo Entry

Your momma's been kidnapped, and it's up to you to defEAT those that took her away. The gameplay is a simple platform puzzler, where you need to eat all the enemies in the level to progress. You can only eat monster's smaller or the same size as you, otherwise you'll be hurt or die.

This entry is written in C# and Monogame.

Controls
--------
Well, this followed both themes, so controls are easy:

Left - Move left
Right - Move right
Left/Right - Progress on any other screen.

Additionally, if for any reason you get stuck, you can press enter to restart the level.

As always, constructive feedback is encouraged. I've turned on anonymous feedback, but consider leaving your name visible. I will never take points off your entry for anything you say on mine.

Update: Found a few places in the game where it was possible to get permanently stuck and made the game unsolvable. These have been corrected. Let me know if you find any cases.

Update 2: Fixed level 9 based on cppchris's and Paraxite's comments. Thanks for the screenshot.

Update 3: Another round of game breaking bug fixes. I had to change the layout of level 15, and added a size cap to every level so that you only grow as big as you need to be to complete the level. Thanks for everyone noting areas where you can get stuck. This game should now no longer have any sticking points anywhere, but just in case, I added a fail-safe. If you get stuck, press "Enter" to restart the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#31Theme4.39
#40Fun3.94
#54Overall3.97
#95Graphics4.06
#122Audio3.57
#130Mood3.58
#261Humor2.86
#306Innovation3.43

Comments

cppchriscpp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

Found one more case where you can get stuck and not be able to complete the game: https://i.imgur.com/DueAcYF.png

That said, this is one of my favorites so far. It's almost reminiscent of bubble bobble. The graphics are simple but effective, the background music is enjoyable

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

Great game! It feels like a nice puzzle game. Falling is really slow.

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Good design.
On the level where the electric monster first appears, when you eat all the small enemies on the bottom level you become to big to fall down, so you cannot eat the final big one and get stuck on that level.

tiffi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

The graphics are great, would be nice if you could Control your char while falling

tiffi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Oh and if you polish and bug fix a bit, it would be a great smartphone game

lordsavage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36pm

A brilliantly fun little game, Well done.

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40am

Good Job, I really like the graphics and music in particular!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:22am

Now its really getting huge! (i hope his body can take it)
I also suffered from the "getting stuck on the level" -plague.
I think it was...level 7? It was the level with many little brown enemies and two bigger green ones.
I could eat the bigger ones even though there still was one little guy left. And I couldnt fall through the ground to get to him.
Nice game overall!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27am

Oh, childhood... Well played.

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27am

Great recreation of NES-era games! I especially liked the character design. I did get stuck on level 12 or 13 though! Had one dragon left to eat, but got stuck on the bottom layer of platforms. No biggie. Fun game!

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Very good puzzle platformer. The pixel art is really nice too. :)

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Pretty interesting level design, the game made good use of the mechanics.

MHaton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Didn't get a screenshot, but got stuck on what I think was level 11 - could eat the Red dragon-looking guy in the middle but there was one little guy going down the side still!

Nice little game, excellently captured the retro feeling :)

ripatti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Excellent! The game mechanics is simple, but is has a lot of little extensions to be not so boring for a long time. I like different movement patterns of the enemies, shocking and firethrowing abilities of the them, my own ability to bounce jumping on enemy's head. Music and art are very moody.

Unfortunately, I stuck on one level when I ate all enemies except one and was too big to fit into the hole in bottom of screen. I do not remember number of the level and I did't made a screenshot (and I closed the game pressing random keys trying to restart the level), but I can recall that the level has a dragon in the top of screen, big knight at bottom and very small knight over whom you cannot to eat if you are too small. I think a restart button may solve this problem.

Anyway, great work! This game is one of my favorites.

Zetym says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Really nice and cozy, the fall speed felt a bit sluggish but the game was fun.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Great game! The game delayed actual gameplay way too much though. Falling was excessively slow, the eating animation didn't need to temporarily immobilize the player, and the death and respawn could have been much faster. Besides that it's really well done. Sound and visuals are good and the level design and difficulty progression is perfect. Great job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15am

Very cute! I didn't mind the falling speed that much as it reminded me of how some old games played which fit with the overall style(I especially got a bubble bobble feel). Level design is solid as well!

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:03am

Good concept! When i saw the intro I remembered Pokemon Red XD .

Khallane says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:48am

Cool game, finished all levels

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:00pm

What cool little game. Loved the graphics, sound and puzzle in general. Great work.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Nice little puzzle game, your art style is pretty neat a solid entry overall :)

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Fun game, i really like retro graphics and music vibe. Game is challanging but rewarding when you complete level. Pretty great entry.

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:08am

Nice level design! Gameplay was solid for me. The only annoying thing was the music. A suggestion I'd give is to have least two for interleaving each stage. The art is great. I loved the sprites and the starting/ending screen. Very nice job!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:23am

Catchy chip tune music. Love the cute graphics. Level design is pretty satisfying to figure out the best way to move around, I'd say the challenge of have only one heart would even make it more satisfying. Really enjoyed it.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:55am

Could not beat level 10! That said the bouncing and growing mechanic is nice. I like the art and the music fits very well... sounds prehistoric and primitive. Good one.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:14am

Found a bug where you were too big for the tiles in level 13 so I was unable to finish. However. This is a cute little game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]