Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Everyone is a Suspect

by Catmoo - Compo Entry

Welcome to the town of murder!

Talk to those in the town and look for clues to try and unravel who the killer is. Prove the police office wrong by finding out information that they didn't!

There was a lot that didn't get in and the end fell short a little, but I hope you enjoy! I think I was a little too relaxed with getting the game done.

Also the audio doesn't queue so if you wait out for lines to finish it will make it a little more easy to hear.

Also I'm very confused to the "I think I know who did it line" and why it sounds like it does. I have no idea. As it sounds fine everywhere except the moment it plays in game.

*EDIT* I've added a build with bug fixes, fixing a variable issue with the police officer, I believe all the occurrences where you can get stuck and an audio issue where a line plays very loud

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#57Audio3.85
#159Humor3.19
#276Mood3.28
#334Graphics3.37
#352Overall3.39
#470Innovation3.17
#573Theme3.62
#617Fun2.97

Comments

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06am

I think one of the intersections leads to the wrong location - I keep getting trapped in what seems like the wrong part of a map. http://imgur.com/zmmKKnv

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38am

Super awesome that there's so much voice acting. I did end up getting that bug where you get trapped :/ Great job though!

Catmoo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59am

@MorseAmalgam & @adamk33n3r Oh no! I'll have a look at that issue when I get home after work tonight :)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Great! Enjoyed this :) "These train tickets... are for the FUTURE!" :D also.. free bike! :D

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Got totally lost but found a bike :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Lovely voice! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BarqoQ2BpLQ

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:55am

Was able to play through it after the update!
Impressive to see a fully voiced game in the compo entries. I keep snickering at the "I trade meat for money" line.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:13am

sorry - i don't do installers - anyway you can zip this?

Catmoo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:28am

@sP0CkEr2 It's not an installer it just runs, nothing is installed on your machine to play it

Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Haha awesome, some of those lines were brilliant, is there actually a definitive person that did it? I guessed, or does it always leave it open?

I found the road system very confusing, sometimes one road would seem to take me to two different places, took me a while to find the last area that I hadn't been to.

I thought it was a shame that the detective doesn't cycle around everywhere Murder She Wrote style :P

Super cute graphics, very good audio, and fitting to the theme, a growing deduction screen would have been awesome.. though totally too much for 48 hours :D

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Solid entry

bob_fish says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Well done, nice work getting all the voices recorded! Great game.

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:11pm

I like the graphics and animations. But I wasn't able to understand the dialogs, because I'm not english native speaker. Subtitles would be nice.

MAnimal says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:38pm

maybe subtitles can take player more in

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Nice entry! BUT WHO DID IT?! Hopefully, I made the right choice.

Phil Strahl says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Interesting game, I like murder mysteries. I wish I had had a little more to go on in the beginning, but that's definitely something. Enjoyed it (still I am clueless about who dunnit).

Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Great mood but unfinished ! :'(
Who did it ?
It's very hard to know where we are going on the map.
Lovely voice ^^

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:14pm

cute graphic)

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Can't play windows games, so I can't rate.

xWarZonex says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Really nice entry. I loved the voice acting and the plot... Although I couldn't see how the plot ended because I think I clicked going to the next region too fast, and the game stopped working? Really neat and innovative entry. 4/5

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Its a nice little game

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Really enjoyed the graphics and all the voice acting, you rarely see that in a ludum dare entry. :)

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Cool game, voice acting was spot on! The road navigation system, however, was beyond consusing. I think it needs some kind of map... I'm not sure who the killer was, but the guy who played "terr ah ria" was my prime suspect. Very solid entry!

bodsey says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:57am

Got stuck as well in the bug, and overall the navigation got me confused, but great job here, congrats

davisan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Nice story, cute graphics and voice acting! Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]