Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Let's Poke

by garygreen - Compo Entry

If you want to make a name for yourself you should consider poking all the things that you're told to poke... refrigerators, dragons eggs, clowns, safety certificates etc.

Tap the left button to launch your pointy hand.

Tap the right button to turn it (the button indicates which direction it will turn).

Once the hand has fizzled out you'll move onto the next stage.

I chose the 2 button theme for this game.

Created using Pocket Code on Android; Caustic & sfxr for music/audio; and Pixelesque and Image editor for the graphics.

NB: The apk lists a lot of things the app has access to on your device when you install it, but my game actually only uses touch screen controls and none of the sensors, camera or access to accounts. Unfortunately I don't have access to the permissions file, as it is created when the apk is compiled from Pocket Code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#155Humor3.21
#365Audio2.88
#649Graphics2.80
#681Mood2.68
#741Innovation2.68
#763Fun2.71
#858Overall2.72
#904Theme2.80

Comments

nucleartide says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56am

I wish my old Android phone still worked! :( Does this happen to run on desktops/laptops?

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15am

This is not actually two button controls. You could have done the same with one button: click to start, click again to turn.
Turn feels clunky, would be nicer if could hold down to turn continuously.
Top part of the screen covered by score is a play area, and hand goes behind it. Weird and annoying.
Had to turn off audio cause I'm on the train. Sorry.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52pm

First of all, if your game doesnt use some permission, why dont remove them from AndroidManifest.xml?
Not that big of a problem, but the game crashes on startup on my Android 5.0.1 GT-I9515

garygreen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Thanks all for trying it out & giving feedback already.

nucleartide - unfortunately it's Android only. Sorry.

timeshapers - I agree about the turn, but Pocket Code (which it was originally created in) doesn't have that capability in the code. I'm also updating the game so the score area isn't also part of the play area.

SirJavaGaming - What I should have said in my entry blurb is that because it was compiled as an Android app using Pocket Code I can't access the AndroidManifest.xml. Hopefully the Pocket Code developers will change this in future.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

This game crashed on startup the first time. Not a big deal since it worked thereafter, but something to look into.

The controls (rather, the control - as already pointed out, it could be achieved with just one button) are a little unwieldy, but nothing some adjustments couldn't fix. The good items and bad items frequently spawn too close together, making it very hard or even impossible to hit one but not the other. That might be an intentional part of the gameplay, but for me, it made it feel a bit less dependent on skill/strategy and a bit more on luck.

Also, a very minor thing, your icon could be better - why not use the hand sprite as an icon?

gv1351 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35am

Deploy a PC version

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Funny)

Geti says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Cant run it, sorry.

Xgor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Quite enjoyed the funny ending. The controls tho...

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Couldnt play - for a competition like LD you really need to support the common platforms. Didn't want to install this on my phone for security reasons, I'm OK with wiping my PC each time I enter ludumdare but not my phone!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:30pm

This game is sort of silly and I like that. However, I don't see any way to get the time bonus and I kept losing the hand off the screen. I'm not sure how, seeing as how the hand wraps around...

f7f5 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Silly little game (in a good way) but a bit hard to control (the hand gets off-screen very often)

For some reason it crashed the first time I launched it but worked fine afterwards,

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Tested and working on my Galaxy Tab S2 tablet. Buttons could do with feedback of sort (colour change, vibration etc.) but this was a rather decent entry plus the ending was quite funny.

Also, for anyone wanting to try this game out but with no Android device, you might want to consider downloading an emulator like BlueStacks.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:59pm

nice game

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Oh. My. God. That could not possibly be kore innovative!

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:20pm

*more

garygreen says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 8:43am

I really appreciate you all playing, voting and giving feedback on the game. I wasn't sure how well it would go down and I appreciate that not everyone has an Android - I was partly wanting to add to the number of Android games LDJam participants could play by putting in this entry. I'm taking on board all the feedback and changing the game where I can. The implementing of some of the ideas come down to Pocket Code itself and the way the system works, so I'll be feeding them back to the developers. Thanks again. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]