Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Balloon Cat

by TheFudster - Compo Entry

Play as a cat flying a balloon to get food for hungry kittens!
Go get the item shown in the bubble at the start of the level and bring it back.
Thats it!

Will upload source soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Graphics4.42
#45Mood3.94
#83Audio3.71
#102Overall3.81
#174Humor3.14
#278Innovation3.47
#346Theme3.89
#407Fun3.25
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

zesterer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00am

Awesome! Very cute. Although I wasn't really sure how to go about getting fuel.

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31am

This is adorable! I love your art style!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32am

nice little game.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40am

A cute game if a bit simple. Very relaxing however. Great visuals and sound.

EwChap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48am

Cute and enjoyable game. Love the music. Great work.

Bemmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51am

Fantastic work, adorable artwork and great use of color upping the overall mood.

dekart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53am

Very well done! I like the blurred background made of the same objects, it creates an awesome feeling of open space and real flight.

Few notes:
* controls doesn't give much control - it's nearly impossible to predict where the balloon will land so hitting the ground at a specific place is really challenging
* the goal of the flight is not clear, what should I do to win? Probably an arrow pointing where you need to land would help. There are signs on the ground, but which one is the one i need?
* moving the balloon backward (at least a little) is a must - the game doesn't give you a second chance to hit the target and with the current controls it feels like a fault of the game since I don't reall control anything

Hope that helps

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06am

Greate Game! I love those 3D pixels stuff!

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:28am

Very cute art, very hard to control!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33am

It was pretty cute and had great graphics, but I had a hard time controlling where to land. As soon as I'd seen the landing spot I would already be too far gone to deflate to hit it.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Very cute, challenging game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rQfOYGAIpM0

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:31pm

A lot of nice relaxing games in this LD and this is certainly one of them. I liked the background too.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

This is awesome, had a blast playing it. Found myself blowing at the screen to try to get some left-facing wind after I collected everything and missed the end(start) point just by a bit.

Nice inflate/deflate sound effects and great mood!

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

Very nice art style. After getting the item in the bubble though there didn't appear to be a way of getting back, just an infinite line of trees.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

super cute art style

TheFudster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46am

@TeamKawaiiju The game world does loop around. It's probably a bit too far at the moment but if you keep going you will return to the start.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

I'm not a fan of voxel-like graphics and it was too hard for me (got a bottle of milk though!) however I like the idea for the controls. It feels like this old game where you were trying to land on a pod with spacecraft. You may consider using a color palette next time, it would look much better.

trykondev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:04pm

It’s got great music – this sort of percussion thing that reminds me of animal crossing. And an amazing art style. Really inspirational! Great work

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Nice Voxels. Great idea with the background! Makes it feel really wide and open space.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

Very cutesy art style which fits perfectly with the music. I could have done with a bit of clarity with the task and whether it was meant to be as difficult as it was.

TheFudster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:48am

It kind of is meant to be difficult. In the end I decided the difficulty was acceptable just because in its current state it's so damn short haha.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:51pm

The presentation of this game is the best I've seen so far this LD! Slick menu, great graphics and music. The gameplay however is not superb. You have too little influence on the balloon to really feel in control.
- Good idea
- Great presentation
- Needs some work gameplay-wise

Good job!

emmes says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:04am

Love the art design.

However, I have too little control over the balloon for my taste.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Controls were pretty hard to master but I loved the way they worked plus I really liked the voxel art style.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]