Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Coralina

by grama - Jam Entry

A little zen toy. Use the mouse to create you corals. The loading is quite long.

Left click to grow a coral, right click to start a new one. Beware of the poison!

Game by Enric Llagostera (http://enric.llagostera.com.br).

Music by Blue Dot Sessions (http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Blue_Dot_Sessions/).

A few SFX by Nifflas (http://nifflas.ni2.se/).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Mood(Jam)3.96
#382Graphics(Jam)3.69
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#880Overall(Jam)2.88
#1003Fun(Jam)2.38
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

I like the feel of it, It would be nice if it had some sort of end condition.

jward says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00am

Nice mood and watery graphics effects. Is there a goal or end? I feel like it's missing a sense of progress (points, levels, etc)

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Really like the aesthetic and the concept! Could definitely see this becoming a good mobile game if there were some other mechanics introduced

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Nice mood and graphics. Was missing the sense of what the game was. More a simulation.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55pm

No goal, just zen, a great concept. But there isn't really anything to do.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Very chill and fun entry. Wish there was a goal. Like the water shader.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

interesting, love the mood, the audio is great, good job

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Nice mood but not much going on in the gameplay department, more of an unwind game

buddhaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I like the calming music and atmosphere. The mechanics of growing the coral are really nice, but I wish there was more I could do with it.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:54am

Like the others were saying.. Very chill and aesthetically pleasing.. but needing some kind of way to win/end or indicator of such.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Great mood. You definitely achieved the zen. But I'd remove the poison and add more types of coral. The poison can't really be dodged and it feels like a shame when you can't build your carefully constructed coral any further.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Nice little game. I loved the chill music. Well done

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:15am

Nice little game. Graphics were nice, liked the music too so not sure why you excluded it from the ratings :p nice job

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:53am

awesome, well done!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Excellent music, and the graphics are appealing, if a bit simple. The growth mechanic is well designed, and the whole thing is nice and polished. I'm not all that fond of this type of game/toy, though.

I like that you can grow new corals on top of the ones that die.

Tyler says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Good entry, but could use more of a goal. Liked the controls and mood!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]