Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Earth Maker

by jayitinc - Jam Entry

For this Ludum Dare I decided to create a prototype for a game I am going to make. I however, once again, didn't finish (at least not to the point I wanted, but that's Ludum Dare for you). Even though it is unfinished it is probably the most playable entry I've made to date.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#973Graphics(Jam)2.24
#980Fun(Jam)2.47
#1001Mood(Jam)1.94
#1014Innovation(Jam)2.12
#1037Overall(Jam)2.59
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07am

not anything special, you get really slow after a while as well :(

Trash Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

I thought this was a really cool prototype! I gave you the most points in fun, because this was really nice to play, but it suffered a bit with graphics and the lack of audio so the mood wasn't what it could be. With a little work this could be an exciting game!

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

Looks like agario, but with a theme, and I like that :D
Too bad it gets boring when you become a "lava" planet, as there's almost nothing bigger than you. But of course it's not finished.
Keep working on it, I really would like to see the finished result :D

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18am

Use a camera to avoid having to scale down the world each time

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27pm

gets old pretty fast and I won't say the obvious, I like the space theme tho!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:54am

Use accelerations!! And lerps! Especially when you change the scale, it feels super weird. Concept is nice enough.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20pm

We have similar concepts with our game, I like the direction you took the game. I feel that there weren't any challenges as I grew pretty fast and eventually was able to eat anything in my path. Also the collision box seems like it doesn't scale correctly with the size of the planet. Also, there wasn't any audio in the game. However good job on the game :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:29am

Its a nice base for a game!
I would recomend not scaling the star-bg, since starmaps are more of less fractals and even on a high zoom you should see some stars in the bg ;)
Also the slowing down of the movement is a bit annoying, since it doesn't make gameplay more interesting (e.g. running away harder) but only slows progress down.
A progress bar for the planet stages would maybe make people not quit that quickly. Atm there is no indication if you could discover new stages (I quit on a quite huge earth, because I thought that was it, but was not that sure...).
Maybe you could make something happen on the plantet, e.g. life evolving, what is affected by the elements you collect.
All in all nice work! I hope you make a bigger game out of it :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]