Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Frogtale

by rzuf - Compo Entry

Hi!

This is an action RPG game in which you inflate frogs.
It's controlled by two keyboard keys and mouse pointer, but let's pretend that moving your mouse around doesn't count as a "button". So yeah, both themes covered!

Made in HaxeFlixel.
Sounds generated with bfxr.
Music is my ukulele, kazoo and some crappy beatboxing. Recorded with Audacity.
Painted with Gimp.

Hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Humor3.97
#89Audio3.69
#110Mood3.66
#114Overall3.79
#153Fun3.64
#467Graphics3.11
#548Innovation3.05
#610Theme3.57

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

Oh man, once I beat that ant, I was so happy. The final boss music was perfect. I loved the humor of this game. Did you record the soundtrack yourself?

The pacing of the gameplay was smart, and I felt satisfied once I leveled up and progressed. The only thing I found frustrating though was running low on health before the final boss and having to backtrack to heal. Once I found out you get revived if you die, I played differently, lol.

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57am

Thank you! Yes, the music is my lousy attempt at recording. :)

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55am

Good music and good use of the theme. The art is simple, but the focus on creating a story weighs up for it. You've achieved a lot in two days!

tuben999 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:59am

haha we need more games with "bad haircut" and "shame" in your inventory. Pretty solid game :) A bit unclear where to go at times. Got stuck poking at a magic barrier for a bit.

cgriff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00am

Nice game, liked the music and general atmosphere.

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:02am

Pretty well done. I think it's nice how you got a working rpg with only 2 keys (well, and a mouse).

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05am

Nice, I really loved this! The controls were cool, and I loved how OP you eventually could become. :D The music was also pretty funny, bug good :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10am

Haha, holy shit, this game is GOOD! Gameplay is actually decent, writing is funny, and the art and music is so whimsical!

5/5, will preorder the sequel!

lekochen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:36pm

I want to Spare the frogs.

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Nice game, I really liked the art style. I'm saying that, cause I'm a programmer and don't have that art inspiration. Hahahahaha
Btw, a RPG in 2 days...
Pretty neat work... =)

Congratz.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

I love the look of the game, good imagination! Took me a while to realise I needed to walk past the edge at the top of the level to move on... but if that's the biggest complaint I have then it's going to be getting good scores all round. :)

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Who knew inflating frogs could be so fun. This is great! :D

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

i LOVE it!, the control a little bit weird at first
the music fit really well, the visual quite nice, i love the hand-drawn style
it feel like small good old RPG
nice job dude :D

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Music is very funny. Loved the fart magic (it is fart magic don't lie to us).
WHY DIDN'T YOU JUST USE LEFT AND RIGHT MOUSE CLICK!!!

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Just played the game and had a blast! I loved the humour, I think I died a little inside when I let that guy poke me and "Shame" popped up in my inventory XD and the music was great actually! It fit the mood of the game completely. The only real suggestion I could add is maybe have a double tap to speed up travel time a tiny bit so you don't get lost as easily. I spent a few minutes searching for the forest haha, but it was great! I loved the inflation mechanic!

tanjent says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Very good entry! I really like the graphics and the music which share a suitable corny/good lo-fi approach. A thing that I think could add to the complexity and make it more deeper was if you became slower when walking in the mud + maybe some wind resistance to make it harder to progress. Thank also for not having to restart with wiped out stats :P Also, beat the game!

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Cool entry! Story was pretty cute, art is very coherent throughout, and music was calming and nice, and fit well with the sound effects. Controls were pretty comfortable and easy to get used to as well.

I would have liked to see the theme expressed more strongly, but it's a very cool entry! Good luck :D

RPGghut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Nice game, great music, graphics and the use of the theme.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13am

Oh man ! Inflate frogs is just THE spell we need so much in RPG games ! Well done ;)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52am

I got to the part where the credits would roll. Amusing game. :) If the walking speed were 2 times faster at level 1, that would be awesome though, haha.

The frog explosion seemed way louder than the other sounds. Nice job on the music. Yay ukuleles!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:50pm

I absolutely love the style of this, and the inventory made me laugh! I think I would have liked it if I could have used the mouse buttons instead, but it's still an awesome game!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:14am

Controls are strange, but anyway it's very fun RPG right here :)
Love your tunes!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Excellent stuff. Big Mood Points.

abuzreq says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I liked that you hand drew and played your own music , the sound of inflation and the boss music were a bit annoying in the sense that they were sharp and sudden.
I liked that i could level up (and not lose that when I lose all my HP)because implicitly it rewarded those who played multiple times to win it.

I liked it .

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Great fun!

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:41pm

What a beautiful game you made! I'm truly amazed!

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:26am

Fun, I think it was at a good level of difficulty. For some reason I imagined the ant just getting big and it would be your fault haha. Liked the music!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:51am

I loved it! The art for the main character was the best, and the ant boss tune was amazing! Great work!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Love the inventory. You should get a bonus for beating the game without "Shame". :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Well done!
The art isn't great, but the rest makes up for it. Music is nice, leveling system is pretty decent, and the humour is great!
Good job!

the31 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Nice little game. Not too difficult even with a trackpad! I really liked the story and lightheartedness of it all.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:55pm

So I shot the monster and now it's bigger. And scarier. Why was that a good idea? Oh, right, fill it to bursting.

Very solidly done, with a good atmosphere and music. I liked progressing from barely remembering how to lead shots to running circles around enemies. The boss had cool music, but it could have done with a stronger attack pattern.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Got to lvl 6 by the end and realized that i was enjoying this enough that i had grinded up my level. to me your biggest asset was the humor that I could feel all the way through. Blowing up enemies by growing them, silly plot and text, and a solid base mechanic made for a fun play through. I'd say the controls could use some work, but I was able to get used to them.

psychonull says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:53am

One of the best entries I played so far! I found myself enjoying this rpg so much that I want the sequel.

brainstorm says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Wow, amazing game! Sadly, it's difficult to play with a laptop because it's not posible to move a mouse and press keys simultaenously. But in a computer it should be so enjoyable. :)

5/5

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Man I'm really digging this art style! The game was really well done for the time frame and the gameplay was great. I had great amounts of fun playing this! Well done!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:55pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
It is a really good little RPG with a great soundtrack in the background. Sometimes I forgot to left pushing of the Z key and I was always in motion to avoid any enemy contact. The soundtracks are really nice rythms that fits the game really well. It contains some healthy humor and a story that's good to see and play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]