Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

One Button Suicide

by Bemmu - Compo Entry

You're blind and completely paralyzed, except for one finger.

Can you end your life with just that?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Audio4.04
#26Innovation4.16
#50Mood3.91
#96Overall3.83
#246Humor2.89
#468Theme3.75
#477Fun3.16
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

I really liked this entry, I wasn't able to complete it though. And There might be a bug, if you go south then west, nothing happens, also going back north afterwards leads to a few audio clips playing at once ^_^

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51am

Interesting game!!

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57am

very different, I liked it

psypol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03am

i got stuck when going outside and then telling "go all way south trough corridor" or sometning like that.

why not 1 click for yes and 2 clicks for no ?
or even left click for yes and right click for no ?

nice idea and voice overs tho

Bemmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34am

Thanks for the feedback. I noticed that my local web server was case-insensitive and production server was case-sensitive. This caused some sounds not to play. Should be fixed now.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47am

Haha, yeah that's interesting!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:14pm

I really liked this one, the voice covers were great and also the idea in generall was really nice.

CMG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:09pm

The concept for this was really unique. Great use for the two buttons! They were both a game mechanic AND a plot element. The game's theme is pretty serious, and some of the negative motivations were too jokey for my tastes (like not getting to eat pizza). It seems like being paralyzed would be a strong enough theme to explore by itself. But for being created in such a short time, this game does a lot of worthwhile things!

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Interesting idea, however you only used one of your allocated buttons haha. Thanks!

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:00pm

The idea of the game is pretty good and it was well executed. I couldn't finish the game because I was a bit lost of where I was.
Good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Very cool concept.
Minor disappointment that tapping "yes" to "What, you DON'T understand?" did nothing :p

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Different and interesting. Easy to get lost.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Very different, enjoyed it and made it to the end :)

loxo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Great entry! I have never encountered a game like this. At the end I was a bit disappointed that it was over. But I would have liked happier setting.

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:52am

Very unique idea, unlike anything I've ever seen. The sound effects mixed well with your narration and created a wonderful experience.

squigglez says ...
Jan 6, 2016 @ 11:54pm

i think i killed my self from OD'ing on meds...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]