Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sun Station

by RARoadkill - Jam Entry

Want to save the world? If not that, then want to save your own skin?! Then join the Sun Growth Prevention Initiative and keep the sun from consuming the whole galaxy!

In Sun Station, you play as a worker robot, tasked with running the station that keeps the sun cool. However, due to government cutbacks, you only have two buttons to use on the station's control panels. Good luck!

This is an entry for both themes Two Button Controls and Growing.

Pick and drop buttons with the Right Mouse button.
Activate buttons with the left mouse button.
The on station diagram will tell you what patterns to hit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#180Humor(Jam)3.39
#182Audio(Jam)3.61
#271Innovation(Jam)3.47
#325Theme(Jam)3.88
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#520Graphics(Jam)3.45
#565Overall(Jam)3.27
#701Fun(Jam)2.92

Comments

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:18am

I wanted to let you know that the DL location is not in a public folder so I couldn't play.

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20am

Thanks for letting me know. Moved it to a public folder

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26am

Very good production value. The audio in the training video is great. Very funny. The graphics are impressive!

I think it would help if the instructions were a bit more obvious. Running to the panel and remembering the instructions takes quite a lot of time, necessitating multiple sessions. If there were a few icons on a HUD that showed the click order, that might be a bit more helpful.

It's somewhat poetic that there's a feature that requires 3 buttons, but since the theme was "2 button controls" you're sort of stuck! Good use of the theme!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32am

That 2 buttons are nice haha!
Good job man!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51am

Really inventive use of the theme, great job.

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53am

Unity. Of course not start. Excuse me.

seurimas says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:10am

Fun use of the theme. I like the challenge.

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18am

Your game is fantastic RAR,I liked a lot!

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31am

Unique

tweedle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26am

The giant approaching sun is terrifying! Really sets the mood for the game.

Voice acting is great as well! Really enjoy the old-timey radio sound and the transatlantic accent!

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:29am

Definitely got a strong sense of helplessness in this one early on. Really enjoyed your take on the growing theme... I sure hope our sun stays cool... or warm...

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:57am

Great job on the intro video! You really stuck to the two button theme in a way that I didn't expect! Good job!

RevelBase says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02am

I failed in saving earth but I had a lot of fun. The voice over was just awesome.

Galan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02am

That intro was really great; The best I've seen for Ludum Dare. It's a pity the gameplay is so frustrating, though. I couldn't figure out what to do in the short time before everyone dies. I will admit it gives the game a real sense of hopelessness.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:06am

I liked your interpretation of the two-button theme. It was hard to remember how to do everything at some points (which is definitely unique for a two button game!) Good job! The graphics looked great!

Although, I did notice shadows on the sun, which, frankly, shouldn't happen. I'm pretty sure there is a way that you can disable shadows for one object in Unity. Sorry. I'm a nitpicker ;)

Good job!

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:08am

the audio effect are great and graphics. i love your game

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12am

That intro was awesome! The game looked and felt great! Unfortunately, the instructions were not enough to teach me how to play your game =/

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:46am

Awesome game. Nice mix of the themes!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:06pm

I just realized that i killed everyone:( Maybe i should play in nighttime when sun doesn't shining xD

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:06pm

That training video is awesome!! also reminds me of the style that Fallout uses. I have to die several times to get to know all the patterns of 5 stations. maybe a few minutes for first-time players is desirable.

dweebster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Nice game with good graphics. Took a while to figure out what to do but it has a nice feel to it.

Maybe you should have instructions as a tutorial or something?

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:11pm

This game is so stupid :')

Very fun and clever, well done !

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Well, interesting. The problem comes at the point that we have no visual indicators about what does what or anything.

When I saw that we have a fully voiced intro I was sure that we get a proper tutorial. That wasn't the case.

We got indicators that something is bad, bring buttons there, smash them and nothing happens. Rinse and repeat the game over, over and over and over. That is to say, the game is confusingly buggy, at first I thought I'm doing it right.

Other than that, the visuals are impressive, the sounds are good, the voiced intro is clearly awesome and it had some of the Fallout feeling in it. The implementation of both themes is just perfect. Definitely a solid entry.

Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Really fun game, and that introduction video was amazing. I just never was able to successfully use the 5th station...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]