Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lands of TSR Lore

by Christina Antoinette Neofotistou - Jam Entry

My 10th LD! A tiny dungeon crawler. Lots of hard work went into this. Can you kill all the slimes and find the exit?

The theme(s) got lost. I had a good idea about growth, but it turned out to just be leveling up, so I decided I'd make a dungeon crawler. I didn't make it to leveling up hehe


Inspirations:
=============

Wizardry, Eye of the Beholder, Lands of Lore, Etrian Odyssey
This is completely 2D, wallsets are pre-rendered, maps are a *breeze* to make.Simple ties, seen from above. I'm very VERY proud of this.


CONTROLS
========
WASD + Q + E to navigate (also on-screen buttons, should work with mobile devices)
Celestine's spell-book doesn't work, and neither does the inventory (click on a face to see it). What can I say, I had the time, I just tried to optimize the code too hard and it broke. Let that be a lesson I guess.


================
Code:Construct 2
Art: Photoshop CS5
Music: FLSTUDIO + Hypersonic VST + JuceOPLVSTi_win32
================

Greets to my gfs and to all pixelart lovers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Graphics(Jam)4.43
#189Mood(Jam)3.66
#266Audio(Jam)3.47
#533Overall(Jam)3.31
#669Humor(Jam)2.36
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#853Innovation(Jam)2.60
#1100Theme(Jam)1.82
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39am

404 error :/

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43am

404 :(

BigAnt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:42am

404 as well

Outbreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43am

404 here too

forer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59am

Very fun little wizardry/grimrock style game, I don't however see how the theme comes in unless it's mouses two button and ehh.

Is celestine supposed to be able to do something or was that an out of scope feature. Is this the way you're supposed to restore health for people if at all?

Same thing with the equipment and inventory, was there shields that didn't crumble instantly?

Very solid game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18am

Tx forer. Wizardry/Lands of Lore/Eye of the Beholder. The theme got lost, I decided to go with my second idea, i.e. seeing whether I can make a dungeon crawler engine in 2.5 days.

Celestine was supposed to be a sorceress, but eh.The shields crumbling are actually me being out of time. Couldn't really implement an inventory..

Thanks everyone, I transferred the game to my dropbox and also embedded it on this page. I think it ought to work!

philipp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50am

Beatiful graphics. From a gameplay point of view it is quite impressive for just 2 days of work, but I would not recommend going to kickstarter with this demo. Polish it more for better feedback and improve the ui and you might get your 10k to make a full game out of this.

I think the main problem you are going to have is that legend of grimrock exists, which is technicly more impressive and just bigger. You are going to need a selling point more than "oldschool" to get this funded ;)

For a ld game this is obviously really good (though the theme was missed)

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52am

You did a really good job with this game (demo). Honestly though, I'm not really fond of this particular style of game so it doesn't interest me very much. Great job though!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:46am

Lovely setup! The characters are great :) (the slimes too ;) )

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20am

The pixel art and audio is amazing, but well, not much to it gameplay wise. More of a tech demo, heh. But good job. :)

marcolomeo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37am

I am very much impressed and envious of your style and solutions you have used for the 2.5D environment. Very very nice graphics and cool ease of use of interface!

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Neat! I'm a sucker for Dungeon Master/Wizardry/Grimrock-y dungeon crawling and it's a pretty good attempt at one. Only bug I had was I think a slime didn't realise it had died 'till I moved but its sprite was still wobbling in front of me. A few more effects for hitting/killing things would've help feedback too. Love the portraits and the art (specially the portraits) though, and WHO IS LEAVING THESE SHIELD-SHAPED DUST PILES EVERYWHERE :p

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19pm

I arrive at the end! And I'm happy to hear this nice little music :) Don't really fit the theme indeed, but really nicely done. I was a little lost in the maze and didn't really understand how I won the fights (2 characters die :/). But overall great graphics, and very good potential!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Very intuitive dungeon crawler, reminds me a lot of the Ultima Underworld games. Graphics look superb, great job!

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Impressive! Lovely art as always. I had fun making it to the end of the dungeon :) -Fedor

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Dat miss chance! Really good looking game, I haven't actually played these ye olde style dungeon crawlers so the whole movement and exploration took getting used to.

Celestine got dead while I was figuring them out, damn slimes!

RE: Kickstarter.
Need to see a lot more for a Kickstarter approval (in-game and a roadmap for future features and where it will go from here).

sergicollado says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41pm

It lacks a map .. but it's a great job

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:37pm

i definitely see the potential in a dungeon crawler with really great pixelart and a fairly-simple battle system.
my recommendation would be to keep going with it, at least for a little while.

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Gameplay need fixing, like feedback from monster when you hit it, and the chances to miss an attack is really high. But I really love the artstyle.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Really dig the pixel art and simple sfx and (spooky) music :)

kaotiklabs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

I really like the pixelated art, it has a good base to build something interesting. :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12pm

I'm in love with this game :) I love old school rpg dungeon crawlers, the visuals are amazing, great artwork. But to be fair, the themes are poorly represented. Also, the game looks unfinished. I know that this is a demo, but I've noticed simple bugs, like running into a wall, and the wall sprite keeps changing. I hope you continue working on this, 'cause it looks awesome.

axoona says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23pm

cool game, it lacks a map tough...
if you add some story and levels this could probably result in something nice

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

It looks great but there is a lot missing like inventory, leveling up and other various stuff. I still think you did great job though. I'd continue if I were you but try to come up with an original story or mechanic that will make your game unique, not like all others.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04pm

I feel that theme is missed completely. Graphics are good, sound is moody.
Never been a fan of this type of dungeon crawlers, so I'm not excited about this, sorry.

shcromlet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Way too easy. Pretty graphics, though.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

I really enjoyed the graphics, and the concept, even if it doesn't fit either of the themes.

However, gameplay-wise it was a bit lacking, so I'd say it would be premature to take it to Kickstarter in its current state. Keep working at it to improve it, as it does look promising.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22pm

What a really nice game! I'm all sold! All that beautiful pixel art and gameplay in just a weekend. Stunning.

bogely says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:23am

Web version works fine for me, and I absolutely love the graphics. Typical nice-looking neo work :) The 3D effect is really cool, especially considering it's made in pure 2D.

However, the gameplay was very confusing for me to figure out; why were my attacks missing? Where are the 4 players I'm controlling? perhaps an overhead "map" HUD could help, dunno. Good job with this, anyway!

yuigoto says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:27am

A dungeon crawler, eh? :P Nice!

The pixelart is great! Nice work on the portraits, UI, mobs and dungeon! The walking animation is really good too! :)

Gotta say I love the music. It helps create a nice mood for the game. Also, some sounds reminded me of Sega Genesis, dunno why.

Controls work pretty nicely too!

I don't know if this is a bug or you running out of time, but near the end of the dungeon, I can't kill the last slime. If I just keep pressing W the game ends. Tested on both Chrome and MS Edge. :)

In general, great entry! Wish you had more time to work on it!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54am

Nice game, a dungeonMaster-like isn't the kind of game you expect to see at ludum! Nicely crafted, i wish you had more time to finish the art and made more walls, i got lost quickly! A minimap would come in handy! Congrats!

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Oh man you nailed the tone! Art and audio are beautiful!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Hey Christina, as usual great job on pixelart! It's also stunning how you managed to handle the difficulties that comes in doing flip3d. I hope it's not the end :-).

Just one thing. I think i spotted an error on placement of the shield on right farmost tile (=> right,6*forward,right,forward).

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Ohmygosh! This is super cute! Elements of the gameplay, as you mentioned, need a little more work, but this is exactly the sort of thing I'd like to play while on the bus.

I like how expressive and well-shaded the characters faces are with such few pixels. It's something I would have liked to show with my compo entry if I had quicker time and more skill.

Thanks for uploading! This was a treat to play!

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Good work! Makes me want to try something in a similar style next time :-D

Codexus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Nice old school style!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:31pm

it's a nice game! very classic :)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:20pm

I was looking forward to this since seeing a preview on twitter, and I was impressed when I saw it in motion-- this is one of my favorite types of games! I'd love to play more of this, and be able to pick up shields lol! Great art!!

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:20am

This is great, I hope you keep working on it :)

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35am

This was fun, no theme connection, but I saw in your post that you decided not to, which is fair enough. It never occurred to me that something like this could be done in construct so that was cool to see. The art and music were great as well!

Raius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:49am

Awesome work! Love the graphic style and the old-school dungeon crawling style in general. :)

A few different types of enemies wouldn't be a bad idea but I know that'd be insanely tough to implement given the time constraints.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:56am

The art... WOW. Please do teach us how to do that. I would go on about the game, but that art...

justinooncx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24am

Has a lot of potential! Saw one or two graphical issues, but pretty well done for drag 'n drop code!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:27am

Nevermind, I hurried to play this now after all.

I see this primarily as a tech demo to build on. Even without the features you were aiming for, some feedback from the enemies could make this an interesting little experience. The presentation is of course on point, but what's being presented is very barebones.

Keep us posted on future updates!

Anachron says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:06am

Half my party was slaughtered by slimes... This game has Questlord potential

scottrick says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:17am

Great work! I'm a huge fan of EOB and grimrock, so this was right up my alley! I ran into an issue where I couldn't move, and the wall in front of me was strange colors. I had to restart. Very impressive for 2.5 days though!

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:17am

The graphics and music are so so so good! You need to make this into a full game. What does the character on the bottom right do? She just died for me, she couldn't attack or anything. Great game! It feels a little unfinished as far as gameplay goes, though, but still very good :)

Didi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13am

<3

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:14am

This game title opened up an old wound of mine that I never did finish Lands of Lore =/

Great graphics though.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:24am

Obviously a proof of concept, but really cool anyways. Love the art.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57am

YOU NEED TO WORK ON THIS POST JAM! No really I mean it! Quit drawing and finish this game and put it on stream so you can take my money! :D

I do have one request. I know its the jam but i'd really love to look at the code and see how you did certain things.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:06am

I will always love these old-school dungeon crawlers; props on making one! The music done with 4-op synthesizers was all kinds of moody and nostalgic. The fact that I could play this on my phone was an unexpected surprise! As usual, the art and character design is solid (the walls were so detailed they never got boring to see). I see "2 button controls" in the individual character controls, so the theme interpretation is there (the theme didn't say "only use 2 buttons for the whole interface" people).

If you want to keep toying with the idea, a dungeon crawler with some added roguelike sensibilities, or some new mechanics could be really cool. I'd pay to play one. Heck, I'd work on one.

Great work, and pretty dang impressive!

Yword says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:28am

I just finished it, and I like the graphics and music very much! Well done!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:42am

ooooh man, this really tickled my fancy [whatever that means], I loved it!

the graphics were fantastic, and the sound was really nice.

I had a lot of fun playing this game, and I really hope that wasn't the end, and you continue with this, I would totally buy the full game!

Very nice work :)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:11pm

I definitely would love to see more of this game, it has so much potential! As a fan of these type of games, I already can imagine spending hours playing this, the graphics are so charming. I hope you continue to develop this in the future!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Cool crawler in pixel art, good!

sputnik says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Wow! didn't know you could do this in C2.... I'm amazed

fergarram says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Nice game, all though couldn't finish it becase I got stuck.

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Hmm. This exploring idea is nice (also also the way you graphically show it) but I'm not too sure about the battle system nor was I really able to see if I hit something.
Not sure how this fittet the theme.
Had some fun exploring non then less ,so good job :D

Herzucco says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:07pm

I also use Construct for games and you used it really good. Great pixel art by the way

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Too bad you didn't make it. I was very excited when I saw a dungeon crawler screenshots... Keep up the good work.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:00am

@philipp Thank you. I wouldn't go to kickstarter with this demo, I was asking whether the genre and the tiny resolution was appealing enough. I should have made it clear. Thanks again.

@SSJMetroid I understand. Thank you nonetheless

@matthias_zarzecki thank you ^-^

@aamatniekss I agree. thank you

@marcolomeo thanks so much! It takes a good eye to appreciate the work that went in it, thank you for noticing.

@DragonXVI Yay! Yes you're right, I didn't update the viewport algorithm after the slime is dead, plus some more bugs. Hahaha "shield-shaped dust piles" is so accurate ^-^'

@David Cookie: yay! Thank you. Hopefully it will become clearer in future

@Gamepopper: thank you! Ultima is one of my faves too!

@TeamEagle <3

@Warboys re:Kickstarter i agree <3 thank you. I'm sorry about Celestine, she's pretty useless without her spellbook.

@sergicollado: automap in the making ^-^

@TaylorAnderson: thank you! I promise I will

@nuprahtor: it does, you're very right. I will also tweak the battles (it's currently based on d20, maybe that was a bad call)

@Big Green Pillow ft Mgaia: thank you so much <3

@kaotiklabs: thank you! I'm going to try

@pjimmy: this is the sweetest comment ever, thank you so much <3 You're absolutely right about everything that needs fixing, and I intend to fix them.

@axoona: automap coming up

@commodoreKid: it's very true, lots missing. Making a game unique is always hard, but I'll try

@Phoenix849: no need to apologize, if you don't like it, then you don't like it :)

@shcromlet: agreed, thank you!

@ithildin thank you. You're very right. "Promising" is what I like to hear :))

@markusfisch: aww thank you so much! <3 I hope I can turn it into something fun

@bogely: thank you! Only one attack was missing in fact, the spellbook. The 4 characters you're controlling are on the tile you're standing on. It's a 1st person game, like Etrian Odyssey, Wizardry, any of those. An automap is coming up. Thank you!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:20am

@yuigoto: thank you <3 It's a bug :/ The viewport doesn't update properly, I apologize.

@blackmagic: I agree, wall decorations coming up, as well as a minimap <3

@SeaDads: not a man, and thank you <3

@SiENcE: thank you so much! Means a lot coming from you. I'll look into it!

@danbolt: thank you! There's a trick to making tiny pixelart: avoid single pixels

@Dockjekyll: thank you! And yes please do, and show us!

@codexus: <3 glad you liked it

@tapehead: thank you!

@adsilcott: I *will* fix the inventory, so you can pick up shields <3 Thanks for playing

@KZdev: I will!

@Rob Glen: thank you. I'm not sorry about the theme, I made 9 on-theme LD games so far, and this was the most fun of them all

@Raius: thank you! new enemies are coming up :))

@SkullPixel: aww thank you. I'll teach you, it's really simple:

There's only one secret to working in tiny resolutions: avoid single pixels (i.e. always keep your pixels connected, unless you need a single pixel for a highlight or something) and avoid banding. It's counter-intuitive, but the *less* single pixels you have, the *more* detail you can pack in a small space. That's because single pixels read as noise.

@justinooncx: thank you, I'll work on the graphical issues. Drag and drop code isn't to be underestimated!

@Jwatt: thank you, you're right of course. I obviously had no more time during the LD, but I'll work on it in future

@Anachron: aww I'm sorry about your party! Questlord is really cool, so thank you!

@scottrick: you're right, the exit is very hastily coded and full of issues. Thank you <3

@Krafty: the bottom right character was supposed to be a spellcaster, but I had no time to fix her attack. Unfinished is exactly the word. Thank you for playing though <3

@Didi <3

@PeachTreeOath: aww... well you can go back and finish it, it was pretty sweet! I'm replaying it right now

@Evergreen Games: indeed a proof of concept. Thank you for playing <3

@KunoNoOni: omg thank youuuuuu hahaha <3 you're the sweetest. I wrote a post mortem with a bunch of code, I linked it on this page. If you want to see more, please feel free to ask, I can upload the whole thing

@Solifuge: thank you so much for your kind comments <3 Hehe, I don't think my 2 buttons fit the theme, but you're a sweetheart for pointing it out :D I have decided to keep working on it, thanks to one or two comments like yours, thanks again!

@Yword: thank you :))

@IAMSpencer: thank you so much! I'm working on it still

@oz2mura: I promise I will! So glad you like the graphics, I wasn't sure the tiny resolution would appeal to people

@Astro Cat: thank you <3

@sputnik: wheee! I always knew it could be done, I just didn't know if I could do it. You never know until you try :D

@fergarram: I'm sorry... pretty buggy isn't it.

@Pusty: I know, I'll make the hits more evident :D And no it didn't fit the theme, but I don't mind, I had fun

@Herzucco: wheee fellow C2 user :D Hi! Thank you

@KaiseanGames: I feel like I made it ^-^ I know it doesn't look like much, but it was hard work. Thank you for playing!

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I think I usually end up attempting to do way to large projects for LD, but this is quite insane. Very impressive to have drawn and implemented everything that made it into the game. It brought back memories of EOB. I got to a place like the final screenshot above, but it felt kind of random how I got there and I couldn't move while I was getting killed by some invisible enemy. Other than that. Great game.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:05am

very nice looking graphics demo, hope you'll finish it

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:59am

Wowo, gourceous graphics for such a short timespan. I found the gameplay interesting, needs some more meat to it though. I also felt the ui was a little cramped.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Pity that the themes got lost, nice graphics, and brand new/long forgotten gameplay style :-)

aeveis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Really nice art! Looks like a good start. I think a mini-map in the future, or at least a partial map of where you are would be useful for not getting lost. Maybe have a set of textures/things to add on top of the walls as well. Very nice for what you got in!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

It has a very interesting movement mechanic (I never played dungeon crawlers). The art is pretty amazing; I love the retro 2.5D look.

It seemed to me that the combat was real-time, but I wonder how the game would be like if it was turn based instead. This is just admittingly just me pondering, because implementing that might require rewriting some code.

It was very interesting :)

Patomkin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:03am

I really liked the art style and... that's it :(
The theme is completely missed and the navigation, whilst being the most important part of the game, is really confusing. I couldn't kill my first slime because I didn't understand whether I was too far or actually missing with all my attacks. The shields also could not be picked up, because I was too far, and then they crumbled. And the worst thing is when I face the wall and try to move forward, the sprite changes and I do not understand what's happening.
Overall - the idea is there, the implementation is nearly there, the art is great. If you continue to work on it and iron all the little things out, it could become a really cute dungeon crawler, LoL/EotB-style.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Looks really good! The animation for moving around does seem a bit weird, but I like the idea of doing 3D style graphics by chucking a whole bunch of 2D stuff together :)

I guess to make a finished game you should have started smaller, or focused on gameplay instead of graphics first?

As for the gameplay itself: When I was playing the game I was frantically getting everyone to attack because I didn't want any of my team to die. Didn't seem like there was any strategy or uniqueness to it though.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:29pm

This game is absolutely beautiful. The pixel art is awesome! Moving around the dungeon was smooth and worked perfectly on the keyboard.

I see a lot of potential for puzzles, inventories and equipment that this short 2.5 day jam presented. I feel a bit bad for crumbling all those shields. :D

-Kaz

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:38am

I found the exit, mostly due to dumb luck. Very ambitious entry, and very beautiful. :)

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Good game with great graphics and awesome audio. I like the style very much. Sad that you didn't manage to include everything you wanted. I hope you will work further on this.

Starspell says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:16pm

The graphics are excellent. I felt there were a few robustness issues though. For instance I could try to pick up something and then another event would go through, like an attack, and the text would scroll past what I'd like to see. For those not familiar with Legend of Grimrock etc. I'd imagine they'd have trouble with playing the game. Great achievement for a Jam though.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:08pm

You've been featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9tXmMvEBfI

broknecho says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:01am

Definitely a really neat technical demo of something I have not thought of trying with Construct 2. Overall there is definitely a good start here.

Great job for a weekend of work!!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:02pm

I linked the wrong episode! You are actually in this episode! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3XsMHO51iQM

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:35am

hey man you should be proud, very well done on the visual style. Reminds me a lot of Legend of Grimrock. Also, I couldn't figure out how to get the wizard to do anything

radmars says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:03am

Gorgeous graphics as usual, amazing work there! :D This is really cool. More feedback in combat would be good, mostly it just felt like frantic clicking until the battle ended then assessing the aftermath. Would love to see more of this. Awesome job!

rzuf says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:05pm

The atmosphere you created with this gorgeous art and music is amaaziing. You menaged to create a pretty neat engine, would be a shame to leave it in current state. Some cool story, actual gameplay and you'll have something golden. :D
The last slime seems unkillable. It disappeared after poking it around for a lil bit.
Is it possible to kill something from a distance with throwing knives? Would be neato, but all I got was heap of misses.
Mighty fine job!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:06am

Very cool! Would be amazing if you could implement all that you wanted!
The art and music are very nice too!
Great job!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:10am

Incredibly beautiful, though a little light/frustrating to play.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Great effort and art. A lot to do even for a jam game. Got to the end and it was fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]