Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Ultimate Corn Protector

by ezolotko - Jam Entry

Arrow keys/WASD/mouse to move, E/ENTER to enter and exit motorcycle.
Your night shift on a corn field has just started. Patrol the field on your motorcycle and neutralize as much corn thieves as you can.

I made this game for Ludum Dare 34 during Saturday (characters and combat) and Sunday (motorcycle, sounds, and the rest).
Everything is made in Unity3D and Blender. Sounds are produced by my mouth and electric guitar.

Thanks for playing!
@yezolotko

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Mood(Jam)3.82
#247Humor(Jam)3.18
#374Graphics(Jam)3.70
#570Audio(Jam)2.86
#572Overall(Jam)3.26
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#1059Theme(Jam)2.41
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59am

The 90 degree corners are a bit tricky and enemies were a bit sparse, but overall a fun little game.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26am

Congrats on making the first bug free Unity linux game! Although there's not much to do...

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31am

GREAT GAME!!! I didn't get that the theme was growing the corn lulz.

filthsu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10am

Nice bike :D

adamyounis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12am

Really great mood on this one. The gameplay was so-so but the actual sensation of riding the bike with the independent camera was awesome. I just rode around on it for like 5 minutes. The noise overlay was also a nice touch.

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22am

HILARIOUS! You really made it all come together in a fun little game. It was fun killing the corn thieves.

uthamon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Atmosphere of riding that bike in the corn field is what I liked the most. Nice.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10pm

5 stars for graphics, this is an awesome art style!! The audio killed my ears though, I am deaf now!! :D

Thanks for making this game!!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:58am

I found the motorcyle riding more fun than the actual killing I had to do. I like the atmosphere and the enemy design.

ursagames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:52am

I really enjoyed the grainy texture effect on everything, it really set an ominous tone. Nice job getting in two modes of gameplay as well, riding the bike felt really fun. However, being stuck with only 90 degree turns took away a bit of that fun, some variation to the road would have added a lot.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

The good: The grainy graphics which really gives the feeling of night. Awesome effect. The entire driving around feel just works.
The not as good: The actual game itself.
Great jam game entry. I had a lot of fun with it, and really loved the look of the game.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:58pm

nice game

XenosNS says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Creepy mood. Liked the static effect when moving. Fighting needs some way to defend from attacks.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]