Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

There's Always a Bigger...

by Jerre - Compo Entry

========
GAME
========

There's Always a Bigger... is a combination of some known mechanics into something surprisingly fun and addictive. Controls are [Space] and [Enter] (so two buttons ;) ). Eat the smaller green fishes, and avoid the larger red fishes, at least until you've outgrown them!


Please post high-scores!



========
PERSONAL
========

Between my grandmother's 90st birthday and organizing a babyshower for men I'm glad to say I've managed to still squeeze something out this time. And it came out surprisingly fun.

My focus was on fun and theme: both growing and two button control inspired me to combine some known mechanics into something new.

I've used a linkshortening service to track download count.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Theme4.48
#137Fun3.67
#278Overall3.50
#548Innovation3.05
#633Mood2.75
#825Graphics2.36
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Kinda like a flappy birds Osmos/Agar.io mix! Found it quite fun. Well done!

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41pm

I didn't expect much from the screenshots, but it was a surprisingly fun game! I managed to squeeze out a decent 62359 after a few attempts.

The graphics are quite simplistic but the background circles make the whole thing work. And the controls are tight too.

Overall it's a really nice, minimal take on both themes, congrats :)

skripteriant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:03am

I agree with Bug Cow, I think it combines the mechanics of both of those quite well! it was very fun, it would have been even better with some sound effects but I understand time was tight.

daveh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Mechanically solid and responsive. 87249 was my best run.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Good rethinking usual agar io. Have better graphics and pleasant music, it would be fine.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:03pm

game for fun)

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Absolutely, the screenshot does not do justice to the game! :) Not a new concept, but fun and well executed. Sounds & music could add a lot in this case.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Fun take on a classic. There's something very pleasing about just the simple oval shapes. I like how it pulls back to show a bigger and bigger "pond" every time you're starting to become the big "fish".

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I recorded while I played and commented. Uploading it here: https://youtu.be/Alc-6-nhISE

I love that you took the angry birds theme and turned it into an arena style game! Addictive and surprisingly fun :)

Hi-Score: 94913 (If you don't believe me, watch the video ^^)

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Really cool concept. My high score was around 30k.. I was gonna try to beat daveh and make it to 100k, but a few "features" got a bit antagonistic and one just made it not fun anymore.

The first: not being allowed to get offscreen for a moment. I could understand not getting too far away, and maybe it's just my take on it, but maybe allowing the player to hop a little offscreen would be okay because some of the fish would be really near the edge. This one was a bit annoying, but not that really..

The most annoying thing was the bigger fish spawning on top of me... After it happened three times I gave up. They should definitely not be allowed to spawn near you inside a certain range so that there's no instant-death the moment you eat a smaller fish. It's really annoying to just have executed a quick-grab of a meal and then a bigger fish spawns on you and you lose. (You can even see the bigger fish still growing in the frozen screenshot.)

Other than that, it was a nice game. I would keep playing but that spawn "feature" got a little antagonistic. :P

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Nice concept and fun. With a bit of artwork and fx this would be pretty attractive game

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:59pm

1470 was my highest score. Pretty fun. The first time I played I didn't quite like it, but I tried again and found I did. xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]