Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sea Level

by Christian S. - Jam Entry

The art assets are recycled from one of my other projects. Everything else was made during the past weekend.

Press [SPACE] to jump.
Find and plant the [COCONUT] to get things going.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#641Overall(Jam)3.19
#781Theme(Jam)3.33
#906Fun(Jam)2.63
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Lamebait says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44pm

game appears to be slightly broken on my end. The data folder was named IslandWin_Data instead of Sea Level_Data so I changed the name of the folder. The game started but sadly materials seem to be missing as the sand was purple.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34pm

I have the same problem as Lamebait, but the game is playable and is nice

Christian S. says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

Opps, I guess only the Windows build is affected. I removed it for now and will fix the problem later today.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Okay, the Windows build is fixed. I had to delete exactly one letter in the shader code to make it work. It was an 'a'.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Looks nice. Couldn't figure out what to do, beyond moving driftwood and rocks around. Mouse sensitivity was very high on my Mac.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36pm

at first I thought, that this game about bird, that makes the nest)) funny game:)

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42pm

This is a very curious game. I enjoyed the open ended prompt of the island with all the objects. The way pieces snapped together were very impressive. I have no idea how to achieve the growth of trees and grass featured in the screenshots. I tried building some trees and sticking the coconut and skull to them. In one playthrough my goal became to see how far I could get off the island by building a bridge of branches. It went pretty well until I drowned. The tension of the sea level rising was also a nice element. Good work.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Nice ambiance, also i liked the music that came after a few minutes a play! Didn't exactly understood what was the goal of the game thouhgh, maybe none?

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Nice game

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Cool neat little game, I was very confused what to do So I placed the skull on top of a stick and a rock in one of the twigs on the stick then the rock grew into a tree and grass grew everywhere then the island got submerged into water and then the sky went all red and the music went all eerie and then I got scared :P

Overall, nice game, but I feel that it could've had (a) more (clear) objective to it.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Wasn't sure if there was much of an objective other than to keep building up, after I noticed that the tide was higher each time it came in.

And since the construction interface was not quite as satisfying as I wanted, I quickly gave up trying to come up with my own objective. (In particular, I couldn't place things in quite the orientation I wanted, or tell precisely where in 3D space they'd be, which is understandably a challenge with any building game using a 3D perspective camera.)

The interface was also slightly more frustrating because I chose to play in a window, and the mouse cursor wasn't locked to the window. Kept clicking outside of the window and switching other apps. I believe doing Screen.lockCursor = true during Update() might fix that.

But I agree with the others, the growth of the trees and especially grass, the selection outline of items, the water and sky, all look really good. I did wonder where the moon was, though, which one would presume was the cause of the tides. ;-)

AdWARDS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11am

I don't know if this was supposed to be a survival game
(by planting more and more coconut tree to get more and more material, then to build higher and higher platform against the tide?) But the atmosphere is really catchy and cryptic

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Neat game, could be a great starting point for something big. Game looks pretty and ambient music matches well.
Oh and i found the goal, you are supposed to get to the heaven and make coctail to gods :)
Srsly though, you can place tree trunks in space infinitely if they are close enough. Jumping between them might be tricky though
That's a great way to avoid drowning and to be honest it gave me a great amount of joy to keep getting higher in any way possible.
http://i.imgur.com/AddlpKA.png

Fun game, it sure is an interesting experience

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:41am

Felt really incomplete to me, but decent starting point.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Once I figured out you could plant trees on top of other trees, it became a piece of cake. Really love the feeling of the beginning, though: confusion followed by a dawning realization and frantic panic to climb higher.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Pro:
+ Interesting concept, I can see this going big
+ Great music and mood
Con:
- Mouse sensitivity was way too high
- Mouse should be locked
Obs:
o When moving an object, the attached objects would just keep floating where they were
o My strategy: The Leafy Spiral Stairway to Heaven: http://imgur.com/qHw2JjS

Awesome work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]