Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Toppa!

by lekochen - Compo Entry

A short game about an unknown creature seeking freedom. There are 5 levels total. The last one is a bit hard but it is doable.

Made by HaxeFlixel.

* click game area first to focus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#42Fun3.93
#204Theme4.05
#339Overall3.41
#369Innovation3.34
#394Humor2.55
#433Mood3.03
#560Audio2.47
#710Graphics2.64

Comments

Eikinel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28am

Haha, good game ! My First time and I won :P
Special mention for the Diglett x)

Oppai_pika says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28am

Thanks for the game, realy funny :)

Husky says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Haha, this is really cute and interesting, the final one is so difficult, but I luckily went through lol.

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Very simple and fun game. I like it!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:09pm

nice idea for a minigame, but there is potential for more features

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Kinda like battle with Undyne. :) Loved the ending! <3

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I love minimal arcade games, awesome work.
A little too short but very fun, nice sound and graphics.
I would love to see this developed into a full game on mobile.

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Great idea! I had a lot of fun!

scars377 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44pm

At the last level you could somehow quickly hit between left and right and wouldn't be hurt.
Love this bug.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54pm

The difficulty ramp in this was quite nice. The game as a whole was simple but well put together. The game felt like there should have been music synced to each level. Nice work.

Belvar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Nice and surprisingly fun game. I like the way it is easy to understand without any explanation.

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38am

Nice, I finished it! Cool little arcade game. Nice work!

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

Nice game, I liked the simplicity!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09am

Best ending in 2015

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08am

Is there really an ending...I never finished...orz

jackycute says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08am

Hard but fun!

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41am

So many fun!!!!!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26am

Simple but fun!
Stuck at level 4 for a while, but things going so well after level 4 lol.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice and fun.
I like your pace and design of difficulty, where the hardest is the 4th level, the final level is way easier. Well done.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11pm

nice! so simple, yet entertaining. very creative, great job

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Wow that was hard at the end, but still fun. :)

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:11am

Toppa! I made it! Awesome simple game! I wish the screenshots could do it justice!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:01am

OOOh difficult when you go after level 4 :) Nice one !

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:32pm

It was an interesting idea but it's way too short.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:56am

This is a really good example of what you can do with a limited color and shape palette. If you keep working on this, I'd be curious to see other ways of expanding the gameplay, aside from just speeding it up. Nice work!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Nice ending screen :) Frantic.

davidB says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:06pm

simple and hard (I failed at level 4).
Nice idea.

uthamon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Fun, aesthetically pleasing game, ending is a nice additon. Congrats. :D

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Simple and funny! Congratz!

psychonull says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:50pm

It's admirable how much you can do with so little elements. good job.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:56am

Super original! Definitely see potential, this can and should totally be continued!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]