Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Sun Returns

by Phobos001 - Compo Entry

Who would've thought that 3 years and 4 months later, I would make a sequel to my entry for Ludum Dare 24 "@#$% Life! I'm The God Damn SUN" ???

'The Sun Returns' is a game about driving a tiny planet around space, blowing up your planet buddies and absorbing their power in order to defeat a resurrected, tyrannical sun. It's neat!

This is my first time finishing something in Unity, so bare with me if I forgot something rather important (Like a functioning options menu I had no time to make. :) )

Let me know what you guys think! Have fun and have an awesome day!

ALSO, for those curious: I've ported the original LD24 game to NWjs (After fixing some TERRIBLE coding mistakes ._. ) and you can play it here:

Win32: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B45dPigIb7wZZlY2SXNJRVlfU0U/view?usp=sharing

OSX32: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B45dPigIb7wZQkNEeUIwV1I1ZDQ/view?usp=sharing

Linux32: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B45dPigIb7wZenJXVE5mMnFpd1U/view?usp=sharing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Audio3.29
#208Graphics3.67
#218Mood3.38
#375Innovation3.33
#401Overall3.33
#446Theme3.78
#731Fun2.78
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Good little game! In case you weren't aware though on full screen 1280x720 the menu isn't completely visible :D

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

Great game. See I'm not the only one who sees the danger of the sun.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Nice. Slightly hard to control but that's the charm!

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Man this is hard. The damn sun just kills everyone so fast.

Very polished though. Like the audio cue when sun gets near and the overall ambience.

maksibonus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:33am

Good effects

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:16am

Although I found the game near-impossible because of how quickly the sun would eat you and other planets, I have to compliment the simplistic yet effective artistic choices and consistent theme.
Despite how bad I am at it, the game was fun and interesting. :)

logorrhea says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:22am

Really cool idea, and I like the sound design. I feel like the controls could be just a little tighter. As it is, I find it more frustrating than fun, as the sun seems to have gobbled up 2/3 of the map before I manage to destroy a single planet.

Phobos001 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:46pm

I've updated the game to have a 30 second delay before the run arrives, along with a proper options menu, but IDK if that would be allowed to add after the compo ended. Thoughts?

Skruffye says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:44am

If you're unsure, you can always add another link called "Windows Post-Compo Update" or something.
Pretty sure that, so long as you aren't misleading people into believing that the new version was the version submitted during the compo, you should be fine.
That said, a lot of people do bug fixes and reupload under the original link. The rules allow for bug fixes, but I suppose that just depends on what you can reasonably consider a bug. :)
Hope that helps!

KanedaXIII says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Awesome! Very cool game, fitting with both the themes, and interesting idea ^^... But a tiny bit more easier could have been better.

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Man, it's like REALLY difficult to play it
First four times before I died I still didn't understand what was hapenning. Even though I read how to play, it was really confusing. But even after understanding everything it was still hard to play, becuase it really depends on your luck that sun won't move to you and just f*cking destroy everything.
Besides all the misunderstanings and hard gameplay, I liked it.
Graphics and music are fine.
Also after 10 minutes of playing I was thinking that my laptop will explode now
Make something with optimization!

monsterkillu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:25am

Nicely done.. Gameplay wasn't that smooth. I couldn't control my planet properly. Always getting eaten by the sun. Only once I managed to break a planet and grow. I think it would be interesting if the gameplay is made more balanced I guess..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]