Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

B0T-4NY

by Elemental Zeal Games Studios - Jam Entry

Our entry for LD34.

We made a simple one room point-and-click game, as it was a type we had never done before and wanted to try it.



*Notes*
-Linux and Mac versions are untested.
-Works best Windowed, on Windows, around 1280 x 720
-Embedded web build gets the top portion cut off slightly, but is still playable. Linked web build should not, and expanded view should not.
- Full screen may result in undersized inventory icons, but otherwise it should work.



Description:
"Plant a tree, save a life."

Play as a friendly botanical robot named B0T-4NY, on his quest to grow a happy little tree.



Controls:
Left Click - Move/Interact

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#546Mood(Jam)3.18
#584Audio(Jam)2.80
#594Graphics(Jam)3.30
#803Fun(Jam)2.78
#828Theme(Jam)3.26
#851Overall(Jam)2.94
#868Innovation(Jam)2.58

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Gave me major Amanita Design vibes - unfortunately I got stuck (no details to prevent spoiling anyone)

denycetm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50pm

It felt like a machinarium / wall-e kinda game.It had some really great, satisfying little puzzles. One nice to have is a hover state on interactive items.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Took me a while to figure out that each shoe was a separate object. Kept clicking on the one that was smelly, and wondering why I couldn't put water in a bottle (or a coffee pot, before I discovered that the pot was for the dirt). I guess that an inevitable challenge of making a point-n-click: making the correct actions sufficiently unambiguous to not cause frustration, but also sufficiently non-obvious as to avoid being completely boring.

Beyond those particular thoughts though, things were well done. The art and the feedback from the robot was more than enough for me to know what the interactive elements in the room were, and to eventually piece together the proper sequence of actions.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Promising, liked the ideas but did not get the puzzle logic and got stuck.

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

I got stuck after a while, but the graphics are pretty and sounds are cool too :) Overall nice game :)

Funske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

I liked at first I was confused on why there were very little instructions, but I understood why when I finished it. It was fun and satisfying after I figured it out!

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37am

Fun puzzle game. Also got stuck on something fairly obvious after the fact.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:08am

Hopelessly stuck 2/3rds through. Cool art and sound. Puzzles could be a little more open to alternate, logical solutions. Like, I have three containers, I shouldn't be required to use one specific kind of container to get water. But otherwise cool stuff.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:36am

It's awesome that that you were able to make a game like this for a jam. Impressive work!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:48pm

It's a little cute and a little creepy. I like the ending.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:14am

I liked the robot a lot! The whole thing was very cute. The theme of planting a tree was nice. Good job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]