Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crazy Tornado City

by Zener - Compo Entry

In Crazy Tornado City you are a Tornado! It's all about growing, and it is also about using two buttons to rotate left and right. The more things you absorb the bigger the Tornado will be.

Notes
=====
-Please, give some time to the game to download and start (WebGL).
-If you play from Ludum Dare page you won't see the destruction progress bar.
-Alternate left and right to go into straight direction.


Controls
========
Option 1: Left + Right (Keyboard and Joystick)
Option 2: Mouse button left + Mouse button right
Option 3: Key A + Key D

Development
===========
This time I could only develop for one day, I had a good idea but not much time, this is why the game is less polished than I would like. There is no sound, no sharks, and, once more, there are no enemies.

Game is developed using Unity 5, MSVS and Paint shop pro.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Theme4.29
#234Fun3.50
#275Humor2.82
#336Mood3.18
#418Graphics3.21
#439Overall3.29
#470Innovation3.17
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11am

Started off a little slow I thought I was going to be disappointed but when the tornado gets going its quite fun. Good job.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:38pm

I love the moment you tear apart your first office building. It feels like victory n_n

Awesome job for just one day, you've managed to fit both themes with a cool concept. Congrats!! :D

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:45pm

The controls are great. However, it gets a little boring after some time. Good job though.

FireSlash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:30am

There's something oddly satisfying about tearing office buildings out of the ground.

I'm not entirely sure what the power meter does, and there doesn't seem to be a clear goal or victory condition. But for something cobbled together in a day that's fairly easy to forgive.

You should consider making a non-compo finished version, even if it is late.

grifdail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:31am

An old spin on the old katamary genre.... (See what I did here ?)

ddr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:34am

interesting controls, but there is no difficulty increase or anything ? The controls don't get harder with a bigger tornado (getting out of control) ... which makes it not really re-playable.

good job though, I had fun playing it.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:36am

Nice game. Controls really let you feel that you are a tornado. My advice, that you could think of a more sophisticated system for a power meter, then just waiting for a little to fill it up.

loxo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:00am

Nice concept! I would like to see some animations of the cars and maybe people running around. Audio would also add a lot to your game.

dvdking says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:19am

I like how the controls kind of make you move like a tornado =D
it's just awesome

LeafThief says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:59am

i did not really understand the power mechanics but i had fun nonetheless! :)

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:31pm

nice game, it's kind of weird how it oscillates the power, I never know what I'll be able to destroy or not... But it was fun

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Took a while to get sued to the power mechanic, but I think i eventually got a hold of it. Interesting game, but on smaller windows, the power and destruction meters go off the screen. Solid game.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:58am

Excellent control. Power mechanic confused me as the tornado got bigger. Really well put together, an inspired Katamari style game. Good show.

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:04am

That was fun. The purpose of the power bar wasn't clear but it was still an interesting concept. Makes me want to play a Katamari game.

SamH says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:20am

No sharks?! Well then you only get four stars, sorry. Apart from that, nice job on doing both themes, producing decent art and finding original game mechanics.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:04am

Fulfilled lifelong goal of being a tornado.

Nice work on the game :D Reminded me a lot of Katamari Damacy, controls felt nice. Fit both themes very well. ^^

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:07am

Liked the "katamari damacyness" of it all :D

The destruction was a little bit unpredictable. Didn't really get why sometimes a building would get picked up and other times not and then another building of the same size got picked up again. Didn't also understand why the power-meter just seemed to "fizzle" at lowest power when I had reached maximum size.

scorched says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Liked the controls and the overall mood!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]