Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Paddle

by nucleartide - Compo Entry

You paddle a kayak down a whitewater river. Try to avoid the rocks and get a high score!

CONTROLS

LEFT to move left
RIGHT to move right
LEFT + RIGHT to switch paddles if you get the paddle powerup

ABOUT

The game is pretty terrible, but this is the first time I've finished something during LD. Now I know what to improve on for the next jam. :)

Made in Phaser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#590Humor2.11
#599Theme3.58
#647Audio2.14
#839Mood2.14
#856Innovation2.38
#874Fun2.42
#902Graphics1.71
#920Overall2.54
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

zesterer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

The graphics could do with some improvement, and the game-play is somewhat lacking. But at least you made it. Better than 99.9995% of the globe.

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Graphics are a bit rough but it plays well. I liked it, congrats on finishing, nicely done :)

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07pm

I'd like a little bit more control over the left and right movement, maybe have to tap repeatedly to increase speed of movement to the side. Otherwise, congrats on finishing!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26am

Congrats on finishing your first game during LD!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Game made me laugh, artwork is bad in a good way. Love that the player explodes when touching the net looking thing in the water. Great job!

psychonull says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Fun little game. Pretty adictive, nice job!

RiOrius says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:43am

Pretty basic, but well done. Loved the scribbly graphics!

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:36am

Not a bad entry by any means. You did what many others could not: you planned and executed, resulting in a complete and playable game. Nice job!

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Nice idea for the two button controls. The left/right movement felt odd for a paddling boat. I would have expected less left/right movement at the time of button press, but I understand in an arcade game you sacrifice realness for fun.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:13am

Nice and simple game following the theme nicely. Graphics could be better, but at least you finished the game ;)

Shurty says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:33pm

For sure you are not graphic designer but anyway at least you produce something playable and that deserve a good point ! Congrats for finishing your game on time ! Nice job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]