Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Blink

by cacciatc - Jam Entry

Play as Blink a young mage who can jump through just about anything.

Controls:

N - Toggle focus
M - Jump

ASWD - Movement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#151Innovation(Jam)3.69
#231Graphics(Jam)3.96
#306Overall(Jam)3.54
#357Fun(Jam)3.35
#533Audio(Jam)2.96
#535Mood(Jam)3.19
#1045Theme(Jam)2.50
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Very good, nice and simple

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24am

Legit Gameboy graphics, nice!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:29am

No idea how to beat the giant slime at the end but I really like the teleporting mechanic a lot (although restricting it to an arc kind of hinders it)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:29am

Cool idea, and I love the graphics!

mar3k says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:33am

Cool looking game and really nice idea! But it is really hard to play with the long time to rotate the ability to pass the enemies.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:49am

Super awesome game!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:59am

Fun Game! Loved the art.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:27am

Loved the originality! Nice graphics too. Fun, great job. c:

XenosNS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:34am

Very cute, enjoyed that

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

Very nice mechanics, great work!

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

Very interesting idea, and awesome art. If any improvement could be made, it would probably be with the controls. Good work!

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:30am

Teleporting aim would be nicer with 4 directions, the rotational controls made it pretty annoying to get killed cause you spun it the wrong way. Probably becomes easy with practice but its hard to justify sinking time into an LD game if it doesn't grab you immediately.

FireSlash says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:59am

Graphics are very endearing, and the idea is good. However, I feel like the gameplay is severely hamstrung by the controls.

It took me a while just to realize I had to have the aiming open to teleport, and being forced to rely on the slow rotation speed makes gameplay slow and frustrating.

Mouse aiming would work well here, or as others have suggested, directional movement. An analog stick on a controller could also work.

g12345 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:08am

Looks great, is probably fun, but it's too hard for me, and I gave up at the lots of spikes on the floor part.

Not completely sure why this game fits the 2 button theme though.

CrispyOwl says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Hey I recorded this on a video click here to see it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzwlaWdr740

Hope you like it

vortex says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:56am

Very nice idea, and graphics, but your game was kind of hard, because it was difficult to get your teleport target to the correct place, before a slime hit you...
Aiming with the mouse would have been better in my opinion
Checkpoints would have been nice too
Also, I have no clue on how to beat the slime at the end.
The part I really liked about your game was the almost puzzle, where you had to jump twice, in order to avoid the spikes...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]