Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

AVOID RINGS

by misson20000 - Compo Entry

Works better on Firefox than on Chrome.

Feel free to make videos, and please post links in the comments if you do.

Changelog
==============
v3: December 22, 2015
- hopefully FINALLY fixed the movement
- fixed the ending screen
v2: December 14, 2015 ( http://ld48.xenotoad.net/ld34/v2/ )
- hide the mouse cursor (it's distracting)
- pushed first message back a few beats to hide the horrible hack I use to sync the background music
- changed the ending screen
- fixed collision on spinning rings
- added score counter
- made text more readable
- fixed moving at low framerates (I think)
orig: LD34 Compo Entry ( http://ld48.xenotoad.net/ld34/orig/ )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Audio4.17
#44Fun3.92
#81Overall3.88
#170Mood3.48
#317Theme3.92
#470Innovation3.17
#502Humor2.33
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

BigBrother says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:07am

:lol:
The music is really catchy and the gameplay is fun but I keep moving more than I want to, maybe put a cooldown on how fast you move when holding down buttons?
:plus1:
It's really awesome nonetheless!

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:36am

Hey! I remember playing this when you linked it in the IRC! :D Loved it then, love it now! The only change I'd suggest is having a score counter going up as well as levels.. (I assume there are more levels, I only ever made it to level 1.)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58am

Dizzifying!

misson20000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04am

Guard13007: There's only level 1. The original plan was to write three tracks or so and make a level for each one, but you can probably guess how that turned out. I'll add a score counter tomorrow.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Loved the deep moody music and the mood it created for the game ... would have loved a score. Great job.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Really great visuals! I agree that I often ended up moving more than I wanted. And a score counter would make it feel more polished, but overall a pretty neat game!

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23am

Music was amazing. Game is simple yet brilliant. Well done!

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I really love the music!

gironC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52am

this reminds me of super hexagon haha, but it's pretty cool, great game!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Hypnotising! The music is really good too! I think the movement in v2 is too slow, the movement in v1 could be easily fixed if you code it that the player only moves 1 unit on ButtonDown.
Very nice graphics and really addicting.
Good job!

Adreqi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Simple but efficient. I like :)

One thing though, sometimes there are fps drops that affect the player move (For I understood the player moves by increments of aproximately its own size, but on drops it only moves by a few pixels).

This put apart, good one :)

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Game is simple but brilliant, I just couldn't stop playing! good job!

EstrelSteel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Great. Loved the music

acotis says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Controls were unresponsive enough to render the game unplayable, but I like the music and I think it otherwise ties together well.

cudabear says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:57pm

It seems most of my complaints about this game you've resolved in the post-compo version, so I won't talk about them. However, I am not a big fan of the notched movement, it feels a bit restrictive and unforgiving. Even so, this game reminds me a lot of super hexagon and was quite fun. Well done!

Silvio says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:59pm

nice

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Great. The way you manage the game and the music is really impressive. When I crash my triangle on an obstacle, the sound is on the beat. Good idea. It reminds me another game - hexagon. Overall this is a really good entry. Thumbs up ++

Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:53pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
It's one of the RYTHMic avoiDANCE games with I sometimes feel frustration: When I reach a pretty decent distance, I start to feel comfortable and then just BANG! back to square one. The music is quite catchy and I waited it will follow the game flow and speed up to give you an audio clue like Aztec Challenge (if it doesn't have any counter). I really liked the ending music and agree on that music is not fit into your gamestyle.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]