Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Octov

by Taldius - Jam Entry

Trap by greed, the little Octov will have to use a Golem to escape.
Use only the Right and Left arrows to talk to your golem and get out of here alive

- Antoine Semblat : Game designer, developper
- Gautier Di Fusco : 2D artist
- Ben Supertramp & Gab Maledict : Soundtrack and Soundesign
- Aubry Grieger : Game & Level Design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#15Innovation(Jam)4.21
#33Theme(Jam)4.37
#81Overall(Jam)3.92
#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#164Mood(Jam)3.72
#195Graphics(Jam)4.04
#305Audio(Jam)3.40

Comments

Trash Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

This game was amazing! the most fun thus far for me. I wanted to explore the world and I love the fact that you took simple controls and made them mean many things. I had some graphical bugs and the audio was a little harsh on my ears but I absolutely love it. Great job.

Rose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Neat idea, and the art is interesting! It was hard to remember all the commands, but that's part of the challenge.

jachepe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Cool game! I love the graphics

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Great take on the theme! The game works pretty well and is pretty good. the graphics are also great! good job!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Nice and interesting entry. Was quite a lot of things happening at the same time, making it hard to focus and respond appropriately in a timely fashion, but the game (or Octov) was very forgiving, able to take a beating and heal up.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13pm

This game is really interesting - really great use of the theme, had lots of fun!

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Heck yeah @ your game! tons to do and super compelling! Great work!

Hackbug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

WHOAA genius game, congratulation, your game is so nice. Nice sound nice design, super idea for the control ( it like patapon really good ) and your is fun; :D GG

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

This was a good game, the controls were difficult at first but felt very intuitive after a while. I managed to become good at the combat :D. Nice graphics, sfx and music too! Well done :).

Haokarlos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Good idea, and good use use of the theme, maybe too many soldiers per combat, but Iike the mechanics and enjoy the game!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

really interesting concept. great game

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

i was a little confused with controls. but you just have to get used to them.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

First of all, that was fun! I was laughing out loud with the sounds affects and the tension of the combat.

The controls have some lag between the input and the execution (which I guess is for the correct parsing of the commands), and that made it a bit frustrating sometimes.

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Wow, great game! Had a lot of fun playing this one. Really clever way of only using two buttons, but still keep the game and mechanics interesting and fun. Graphics are good and music is good as well, but most importantly I think that this game has a great mood gets you immersed into the world and makes you want more.

Definitely one of the best entries I have played so far!

Loneshark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Sweet game! I will have to replay this to see the paths I didn't take.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23pm

i finished the game on first run @.@
man this one is the funnied so far!
5/5 on everything

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Very solid entry.
The concept behind the mechanics was a very innovative solution to the theme.
I liked this entry a lot!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:17am

Nice! Reminds me a little of Patapon ^^ Cool graph and solid audio (the music gets a little repetitive though). Didn't expect to be so long too :o Well done!

pokipsy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Amazing concept and gameplay mechanics! The art is very nice too

nosfer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58pm

done, finished all levels :) It could be improved by changing button to different pair because left and right often were confused by me with direction of movement :)

bessdlan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Amazing game *_*
Love the concept (very good use of theme) ;)
Good job

ragnta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I like your game, I think the sounds are the one negative thing. Nice job :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23pm

This game so far has nailed the 2-button control mechanism the best. Really like the Mario 2 Shyguy-like character and guardian. Loved the background music too. Great!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:25pm

(salut D'indiemag :p)

Great use of the theme and very well polished game with nice tutorials, great entry!

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Very nice game! So many things to do with 2 buttons! Keep up the good work :)

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Not my favorite, the reset time on the input and the speed and all around weirdness of the combat really through me off.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:52am

Such fun! Very rewarding game play. Made me feel pretty bad ass getting the inputs in at the right time.

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Was fun to play! Nice graphics nice concept.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:55am

Amazing!! I love the graphics and the mechanism is well designed! This half turn based battle is very inspiringļ¼

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:11am

Not too bad at all! My only issue was that it was a bit difficult to control and I never really got the hang of it but that was probably more of a "me" problem. Looked great and I haven't ever played anything quite like it before. Good Job to you and your team!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:23am

Controlling a Golem, what a pretty cool idea! I love so many things on this one :D Congratulations!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:50am

Good game with a perfect use of theme - and the art is interesting. Well done ++

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:58am

interesting concept (memorization based input for timing combat), but very repetitive

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Very nice and creative game ! The fact that we can do s many actions with 2 buttons is amazing and is a nice catch on the theme !

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Fun game. I like the idea that you are inputting commands into a golem. I also like the take on two button controls that is not just two buttons (string of commands making more complicated results) Lovely artwork too.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

It was challenging, but nice and fun to play. Drawings are polished, ambiant music and sounds just as they need to be, and clever use of the theme. Very well done !

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:25am

Nice take on two buttons. The combat was surprisingly fun once I got the hang of it. Art was really cool, to boot!

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:37am

Was kinda weird to only have audio in fight scenes, and the gameplay didn't really grab me, but it was still a good submission. It had good art and the levels were interesting.

Oh, and I found out you could skip fights via jumping.

alhvi says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:54am

Clever use of two buttons. I really liked this entry. Good job. Congratulations.

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Interesting ideas, a neat way of getting more depth out of limited controls. Nice presentation too. Good work overall!

Big Cow says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:15am

I thought this was really good. The use of special sequences was really clever and a really interesting take on the two button challenge. The graphics are lovely and really set the mood. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]