Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kudzu: I Can Grow Forever...

by Ryusui - Jam Entry

In Kudzu, you are an ever-growing weed in desperate need of sunlight. Steer your growth, stay in the sun as much as possible, and avoid ravenous insects. Can you grow...FOREVER?

Keyboard and gamepad supported.

Keyboard: Arrow keys, A/D, Left Ctrl/Right Ctrl

Gamepad: D-pad, analog stick, LB/RB

Graphics created in Aseprite (title and splash screen in Photoshop).

SFX created with my own voice and Audacity.

BGM written up in 15 minutes using FL Studio.

Developed in Love2D using ZeroBrane Studio Lua IDE.

***MINOR UPDATE:*** The initially-released version had a bug where the game would not restart properly after returning to the title screen. This has been fixed. (Download link is the same; the bugfix does not affect gameplay.)

***NOTICE:*** Love2D 0.10.0 has just been released. The original .love file for Kudzu released for the Jam is not compatible with this version. Kudzu 1.01 has been updated for compatibility with Love2D 0.10.0; there are no other changes except the absolute minimum necessary to restore compatibility.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#121Theme(Jam)4.15
#219Audio(Jam)3.55
#280Innovation(Jam)3.46
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#378Mood(Jam)3.38
#390Fun(Jam)3.31
#528Humor(Jam)2.63
#537Graphics(Jam)3.42

Comments

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42am

Although the style feels... "simple" doesn't feel like the right word; it's sort of pure and minimalistic, and very much charming. The music and sound effects makes me smile with joy :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07am

Wish it was a bit more challenging but it's fun!

uvwar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

Really cool! The sound is probably my favorite part, nice job.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22am

I just loved the sounds on this. Very fun to play even if it was a bit too easy. Great job

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27am

It seems the game won't start on my PC... I clicked the .exe and it gets stucked waiting forever :(

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46am

I really like the use of both themes here, the controls feel natural with two buttons, and the growing theme is used extremely creatively. It is a lot of fun watching your trail grow and change the background of the level. I would suggest upping the difficulty a bit, either by increasing the rate at which the bugs spawn or perhaps more thematically, by making you go ahead of the sunlight and have your leaves get the sun. This may be hard to implement, but would be really cool to see. Overall, a really great, creative and atmospheric entry with a good core mechanic.

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46am

It's a nice little game! I quite enjoyed it! :>

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52am

OK I'm back! I finally found how to launch the game, the problem was coming from my antivirus... anyways! Love the concept here! And it's totally in the theme... Well done! Watching the plant growing is pretty cool, and the controls are very responsive. The only thing that is a bit annoying for me is the music. I find is a bit repetitive. Apart from that, it's a really good little game.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58am

This is really charming. It's fun spinning loop-de-loops in the sun beams <3 I like the art style and the simple music fits well. Good job on this!

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

The way you've got the bugs attacking is really nice. I feel I can weave in and out of them while trying to stay in the sun. The plant growing in the background is really gorgeous too, nice owrk :)

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:56pm

This is a very neat game. I really like the plant effects that you put into it, a lot of great juice!

Softsound says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Fun little game, art seems good and well done. It's sorta a snake game but with plants and sunshine.

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:03am

I really like the style especially the sound sunlight makes when it appears! You took the most obvious idea for the theme growing but you made it fun and addictive. :D

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:46am

I liked it, but the game got boring pretty quick.

pparke says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Nicely done! Made good use of both the themes. Like others said, it could be a bit more challenging but it's a good start to something that could be a fun little game.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Easy to learn, hard to master as they say. Damn bugs.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:02am

15119 points on my third try, very solid concept, actually fun to play, definitely one of my favorite so far.

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Really enjoyed this, good use of the theme, plays well

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]