Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Clara Stirzaker and the Crypt of Time

by vidarn - Compo Entry

Join Clara Stirzaker, adventurer and treasure hunter, as she explores the Crypt of Time in search of ultimate power.

Clara will move around the tomb on her own. When she encounters a wall she will turn clockwise.
Press 'j' and 'k' on the keyboard or click/touch the left or right part of the screen to activate either the blue or the red pillars in the crypt. This will change the layout of the level and help Clara find the exit.

Press 'r' on the keyboard to restart the level if you get stuck.

Please try the web link below if keyboard input does not work.

Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Graphics4.32
#57Overall3.96
#72Innovation3.93
#75Audio3.76
#76Fun3.83
#79Mood3.79
#133Theme4.13
#246Humor2.89
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

zatch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

Really solid entry! Professional, attractive, and well-scoped!

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

I love the art. Reminds me of Derek Yu, especially with the explorer theme.

A mobile game called Lost Yeti had similar mechanics to this. I liked this one a lot more. Consider packing this up and putting it on an app store!

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Best game so far! At first the controls didn't make sense, J and K buttons don't do anything (web version) and clicking on the block (wich seems natural) had unpredictable effects!

Only later did I understood that you don't click on the blocks, you click either the left or the right part of the screen. I'm still at level 8 but I will keep this one to finish it. Great work ^^

I recomend downloading the Windows version to use K and J.

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

_stice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

"Skeletons are dangerous but stupid" ~ they follow the same rules as Clara! :D

Really polished game! Love the graphics and audio. And the levels, too.

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Solid game! Got stuck on level 7.

dusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:09pm

brilliant game.. fast paced
amazing art, well polished
bit hard and confusing starting at lvl 8 for me
very nice work..

vidarn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Thanks a lot for the kind feedback! :)
I'm sorry if some of the later levels were a bit challenging.. :P

@5you: Yeah, the embed seems to mess with the keyboard input for some reason. The web link further down the page should work better, however (or the windows build, as you mentioned).
I'm glad you figured out how the controls worked, I was worried it would be a bit confusing.
By the way, I really enjoyed your game too, you can never get enough picross ;)

@_stice: Haha :D

Fadobo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Unbelievable what your were able to do in such a short time span. Sweet graphics, simple but clever gameplay and utterly enjoyable.

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Gorgeous graphics and combination of visual and audio. Good puzzles, well done!

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Wow this is neat! Great art style, unique idea, great theme, very fun!

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:12pm

@vidarn: Are you going to make a smartphone version? Is this why the click controls are this way? It would be awsome. By the way i didn't mention the graphics but it speaks for itself.

I'm browsing games, this one is still my favourite so far.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Could do with a way to tell which direction clara is facing.

Granat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56am

Super sweet Vidar! Great work :)
Love the time/aging take and the name (Crypt of Time) sets ”pricken över iet”!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57am

Wow, that's a great game! Addictive and very polished!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Fun little game, well designed levels. Keyboard controls didn't work for me in the web wersion for some reason.

goffmog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Superb work, especially the graphics, on another level in terms of production values from most compo entries. The aging mechanic is a nice twist on the traditional time-limit. Crucially, it's also fun! :) It has enough charm that you want to try again even when you fail miserably. I will look out for this on iOS!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Your art reminds me a lot of Derek Yu (which is a good thing! ;) ). I love that the character actually ages as well!
The keyboard controls didn't work for me, but I managed just fine with clicking the screen (although I would have preferred to use the keyboard). Overall, it's a really solid entry!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Fantastic! Was able to complete the game (though had to switch to the Windows version so that "r" worked to reset, couldn't get keys to work in the web version). Would play more =).

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Lovely graphics, nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

Saivan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Nice game! Good idea! I really like the growth age concept!

Masuno says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Seemed pretty fun at first. Still a hard puzzler, and one that one day I may find myself hard-pressed to beat. But as for now, it's got a combination of fast-pacing and slow-pacing that I really don't like.

I must admit, it's really polished though. I like that, and the graphics are amazing. The gameplay is simple, but again, the pacing is off. I'd like it more if there was at least an option to have the game advance one turn at a time, perhaps by pressing a button, because, to me, it's hard to keep track with all that's going on a few levels down.

So yeah, that's what I think.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Very creative! Puzzles were tough, I feel I'm just not smart enough to master them, only stumble through them at times!

vidarn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:13pm

@Masuno: Thanks a lot for the feedback, I really appreciate it. You've got a good point about the weird mix of fast and slow paced gameplay. I wonder if more well thought out level design could solve some of the issues you mention. I would ideally like the game to be fairly fast paced, but I agree that some of the levels feel slow, probably because of their layout. I will try experimenting a bit with it, thanks a lot for the input and for making me think :)

carlsommer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:16pm

I loved this! During level 8 it seemed really easy to accidentally put yourself in a unbreakable loop near the center of the board, that could be fixed with one extra controllable blue/red block. I really loved just about everything else about this, though : )

Troma says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Professional job, polished and great graphics.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:26am

Very good levels! I think you needed a lot of time to finetune the game.
The graphicstyle reminds me on Don't Starve.

Do a smartphone game out of it!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:27am

Great game! :D

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:08am

Great job!
Very clever!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:19am

I love it :D it's an awesome concept and plays flwlessly as far as I could tell... well done!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:50am

Awesome game.

I do recognize some of the sounds though and this a compo game.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:20am

Very nice graphics and polish, controls felt a little unresponsive. unresponsive (maybe a slowdown mechanic?)

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:04am

Lovely game, well done!
P.S. Got frustrated at level 8 too

Ellian says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Wow, really well done. Good job, nice puzzle... it's a pretty solid entry!
The aging thing is great too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]