Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nightlight

by AgentParsec - Jam Entry

A child, afraid of the dark, must face his fears to stop an evil doll from growing in power...

Arrow Keys or Gamepad to move around
Z or Gamepad Button to interact / advance dialogue

Stay near lights to avoid becoming afraid; become too afraid, and the game is over.

Programming / Sound / Music by:
Mark J. Hadley

Graphics / Characters / Level Design by:
Tifu

(Primarily uses the theme of Growing, but also slips in Two Button Controls, in a certain sense...)

(Note: We didn't have time to get in all the encounters we wanted. We may put out a post-jam version later with a more complete experience.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.59
Coolness55%
#9Audio(Jam)4.44
#115Overall(Jam)3.83
#183Innovation(Jam)3.62
#214Fun(Jam)3.55
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#541Theme(Jam)3.64

Comments

OkaDoka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16am

Does this need to be played in IE perhaps, keep getting an error stating this doesn't support Chrome.

Mat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55am

Really cool! You did a nice work here ^^

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

@OkaDoka -- Chrome doesn't support Unity Webplayer. I recommend using one of the download options instead.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

Good entry. Player movement seems to slow down sometimes, but the mood is nice ;)

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17am

Very nice story and storytelling. However, I do feel like the movement and animation is too slow. And the game start is a bit too difficult. I also like the visual style, it fits the theme and the story.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:11am

WOW! Such an impressive game. The lighting effect and dynamic music were incredible!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:19am

Loved the mood. Great ending. Excellent sound.

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14am

Excellent use of audio to create that fear factor!

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Good job!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I liked how you set up the mood but not a fan of graphics. The game keeps you on the edge which is cool. Also would be nice if we could skip the intro dialog faster. I wouldn't spend more time on this, you can do better by redeveloping and redesigning it with more player interaction.

adamgryu says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:39am

I liked the tension of having to get to a socket. I wished I didn't have to restart the whole game every time I deid.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:47am

For a game called "Nightlight" this sure is dark! xD

All kidding aside, I'd like the intro to be skippable. Also can't seem to get to the first plug unfortunately. :\ Might be related to me using keyboard controls? Speed seems to fluctuate a bit.

Anywho, it's a cool premise and I love the character and atmosphere - wish I could see more.

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:53am

@MrJoshuaMcLean -- Yeah, a lot of people seem to have had trouble reaching the first one. You should have plenty of time to get there as long as you move right after picking up the nightlight. I think some people might be missing that they can move diagonally, since I've seen at least one person on Twitch not realize that until I told them.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:25am

The light, that thunder....two buttons OWWWWW

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:39am

Loved so many details in this game. How you can see the boy becoming more and more distressed over time. The haunting strikes on the piano. The glow of the room after a lightning strike. Very creepy and a really fun mechanic. Loved the artwork. You have made an awesome game once again. Great job!

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:49am

Very spooky, good job!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:45am

I really love the game. Really had me going for quite a long time. The atmosphere is top notch, and so are the lighting effects. Would love to see an auto/quick save in the future! :)

OwT says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:42pm

This is not fair! You took my biggest childhood fear and put it into an excellent made game!
It scared the hell out of me, dude! I could die here! (I played in at night and that was a huge mistake).
Great mood! Can't play it again tho, show me mercy.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

Awesome game! Gave me the chills! =D

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Great way to set the mood.
Controls feel a bit slow. This feels a bit contradictory to the feeling of 'I have to rush to the next socket'.
Also the Flashes of lightning are cool for the mood and a nice help, until you figure out that you can just keep standing near the light, wait for the flash and see where the sockets and important objects are. This is a great danger to the mood once a player figures it out.
But all in all a cool entry.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:49pm

really good game (impressive mood XD) but sometimes moves are too slow :x
good job ;)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I was afraid with that poor child, horror movie ambiant sounds are perfectly balanced, good job !

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I thought the audio was top notch, very atmospheric gameplay. Movement felt a bit slow, but otherwise nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]