Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Director Morse

by tompudding - Compo Entry

In Director Morse, you will direct a fleet of (two) robots around a wintery
wonderland in order to harvest candy canes, using only the power of your morse key! MUHAHAHA

Keys:
TAB : Switch robot
Any other key : enter morse

Update: I added a POST COMPO Windows version with an easier control system. For ratings purposes please only consider the original version, but if you'd like to actually play the game, please try the POST COMPO :)


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#38Innovation4.07
#218Mood3.38
#283Humor2.80
#349Audio2.93
#412Overall3.32
#480Theme3.74
#526Graphics3.00
#717Fun2.81

Comments

paulfysh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53pm

is rage a mood? I really like the concept, its just next to impossible for me to morse correctly and fast enough :(

tompudding says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Yes I appear to have made the timing much too stringent :(

intXparts says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Holy moly, the first time I got the robot to move forward five spaces I jumped out of my seat yelling 'YES!'. The controls were difficult but it was a really interesting and unique concept. The artwork and music were great, although that beeping noise is going to be stuck in my head for the next three weeks. Overall I really liked the game, excellent work!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27pm

neat idea, though i can´t say that i got much going. I would also suggest for the sake of getting more people to see your game in action to reduce the difficulty. i would really like to know what i could do in the game :)

Rogod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:39am

This is awesome :D
I can't find anything to chop trees down with and I don't plan on digging up every square, but man this was a cool idea - it really worked and it was really satisfying to get the robots moving around after a while of figuring out morse code. :D

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:49am

Holy fuckin moly I am really glad I don't have to learn to communicate in morse code...

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:53am

The idea of this sounds interesting. I didn't actually get my robot to move because the input system is, as has been adressed before, unforgiving. The conveyed story and mood are great.

FireTwin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Getting unexpected error when trying to load the game. Audiolib32 seems to be the problem file.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I can move forward easily enough, but I am physically incapable of completing the specific sequence of 'R' and '1'. I fear my head might explode if I try any more.

However, great style, good atmosphere, and it's nice to see someone using PyGame.

The robot leaving track-marks is a subtle and appreciated detail.

I'll be sure to try the post-comp version too. Good work!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Really clever game! I didn't get the candy cane but I worked out how I would go about it. I didn't have too much trouble getting used to the time of inputting the morse code, of course it's going to be a little tricky. I know some letters and numbers now in morse, which is fun. Waiting for the print out of the scan was a little tedious, though it was kind of nice that it played it back to you in morse, kind of slowed things down too much. And in real life, results from a scan on a robot wouldn't need to be relayed in morse. Great game! 5 for innovation, definitely.

PurpleApes says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Nice game too difficult for me but really like it! I might learn Morse :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:09pm

This game has a lot of potential, but I had serious problems playing it. I suggest you fi

I was unable to morse properly, i was definitely keying in the correct sequences, but it still didn't let me do anything - I did accidentally send an A and make the robot turn round and scan, though.

I see you fixed these issues in the post compo version, but sadly I cannot consider that version when rating. I would like to see this game taken further.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Interesting concept! Liked the morse thing! But even in de post compo I could not turn with R1... :(

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:08pm

@Joror the turning is in degrees. R1 would be a very small turn indeed :)

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Really amazing game! It took a while to get used to, but it was really fun once I got the hang of it.

Hybrog says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Oi, that was brutal. Simply sending 'F6' and 'R90' was enough to warrant a pat on the back for me. Very clever though, didn't think of Morse Code as an idea. The original control was very difficult to execute, but the idea is superb, highly innovative interpretation of the two button theme.

Rialgar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:35pm

-. .. ,.,. .

having the second robot locked in at first was unnecessarily tedious. With the difficulty of morse, one robot that could do all the actions would have been a better choice. When you leave out the numbers (ie moving one field with just "F" and rotating 90 degrees with just "R" and "L") you can leave the normal controls, because the hardest part where multi-character commands. But then it would have been a one button game XD.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:19am

tough! :D

Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:26am

A really interesting concept, and I love your use of the theme and that you really stuck to it with the console output being in morse code and everything. I'm completely exhausted after playing it, but thanks for the experience!

I recorded while I played and commented. It's currently uploading here: https://youtu.be/SNzeVZJza-4

It might be painful to watch...! :)

tompudding says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:05am

@little-burrito That was amazing thank you. I wasn't sure if anyone would be persistent enough to finish! I certainly spotted a couple of bugs watching you play, it definitely missed a few keypresses here and there which doesn't help, and the activation bug at the end was because you were too close to the door; I felt very bad about that one!

Thank you so much for the video, that was a gift I didn't expect to receive

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I love this so very much. It's extremely time consuming (I definitely didn't finish) but little things are so satisfying. I think in the end I love the concept more than I love actually playing it, but it's just SO cool! Very polished, and the lighting effects are a really nice touch.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:58pm

nice game

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Very hard, but fun. nice work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]