Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Get Grown Or Die Trying

by OrangeeZ - Jam Entry

You are a big playa from nearby forest. Grow stronger and stop drug addicts and lumberjacks from ruining your home... or die trying.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#247Humor(Jam)3.18
#533Graphics(Jam)3.43
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#654Audio(Jam)2.54
#682Overall(Jam)3.14
#746Mood(Jam)2.93
#765Innovation(Jam)2.75
#899Theme(Jam)3.09

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

Hello OrangeeZ, This is GameGrape Gaming! Here at GameGrape Gaming we review games, more! We will do a run through of your game making sure you can see someone playing and enjoying your game but also letting you know what could be changed or whats awesome about your game.

Feel free to send as many as you want since we review all the games that are sent! All games will be video reviewed and the reviews will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter!

So what are you waiting for? Do you want people to see your game(s)? Do you want to watch people play your game? The time has come! What are you waiting for!

Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: https://goo.gl/StKpT9

If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): http://goo.gl/forms/WMMWfbKU5N

This game looks great and we can't wait to play! Good luck in the competition! :)

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

Take back your city! There shall no be any drug addict as they are bad and we are good tree (or maybe we are seen as one because they are using drugs)

korvyashka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18am

Good job:)

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Wow, this is a pretty awesome, but strange, game. Nice work! I liked the thug life bling :D

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Haha this is funny, well done! :D

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Pretty fun, liked the randomness of what powerups you appeared to get. Only negative was that the fire effect killed the FPS in web player to 1-3 FPS (but still managed to pineapple the boss!)

Roffe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Cool little game with very nice graphics! Very straightforward to start playing. Good job :)

Budi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Surely one of the better games - I have really fun playing it. I like the idea of tree against lumberjacks, drug addicts are kinda weird to this game. Also I miss the point, why the tree has thug life necklace, but it's funny. :D

There are some points to how it make better: The upgrade system is unclear, once I have a powerful kill-all-enemies acorn and then I got it swapped with not so good red balls. But the last spiky ball gun is great. Also it would be nice to have a music in-game. In the menu it's great, but I do not spend much time in menus, I rather play a game. :-)

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Growing upgrades oot of you ass is instant classic.
Great mood and probably the best hero of this JAM.

Only con is it could be little more dynamic. And you could shoot birds that are nested in you - more nest more bullets.

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:45am

Haha, that was pretty entertaining!

logon13 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Not what I expected. Pretty hilarious game

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Fun game, I really like it. The final boss was hard as nails, could not beat it. I wish there was some more depth to the gameplay too.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Polished game, but the web player was awful to play in. Clicking never worked for me. I suggest making a forest out of meshed trees, not trees with hundreds of particle leaves.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Cool multitasking game, really hard (especially when math parts comes in). Simplistic but very polished, i mean nice animation, great choice of colors and music.

My score http://i.imgur.com/xuoneNW.png

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Sorry for my previous comment, i thought i was rating other entry.

Anyway your game is pretty good, impressive for 72 hours. I really liked running through map with mob chasing me around and when new lumberjack screamed before chasing me. Hah somehow it was really funny to me, kinda reminded me about benny hill :D
Beating final post is pretty hard but with enough patience it is possible.
Fun game with decent graphics and gameplay.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Kinda hard to work out your tree's health but this was a rather humorous entry and pretty fun to play too.

teamvr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:56am

Made it to the big guy, thought I had a chance.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:53am

Thug Life for a Tree. Totally logical :P

kmakai says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:42pm

This was pretty cool, the title screen was a great gag on its own and I was really impressed by the detail of the environment and the character animations. My only suggestion would be that the combat/interaction could be a bit more engaging, I found it slightly tedious to run back and forth "jousting", but I certainly still enjoyed the experience!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]