Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nano Run

by psychopsam - Jam Entry

[EDIT 20/12/2015] - Realised there is a bug (or a feature) where you can use the WASD or LRUD keys to jump off the box you are sniping from and run around with the worms - kinda fun - but not intended as part of the game - and the scale's all wrong.

[EDIT 14/12/2015] - I've reduced the bounding boxes on the worms so they have to get right up close to the containment walls (checkered coloured) to breach containment now.

Also you can toggle the gun between Single shot and Rapid Fire using the Q key

BIG NOTE: The first time you go to Zoom with the right mouse/two finger click it pauses for a long time - just wait (might not happen to you) it will recover.

NOTE: I just tested it on Web Player in Safari and it works okay - best to go full screen in the browser then right click / two finger click to go full screen again in Unity player. Press ESC to get back, alt tab to get mouse back - or try full exe's below instead.

Kinda like an old game called Turkey Shoot by Williams 1984

THE STORY:
Below the remote outback town of Echidna Lake an Australian laboratory has been experimenting on a molecular additive and reduction beam. Unfortunately some microscopic specimens recently enlarged have broken out of the containment area and are ravaging the town above. As the only available ground support crew you must contain the outbreak to this area. You have to shoot them in the correct location otherwise they divide and create a copy of themselves. If any escape the mission has failed.

CONTROLS
* Left mouse to shoot.
* Right mouse to zoom - Two fingers on mouse pad for Mac if no mouse.
* Mouse wheel to zoom in a out - hold two fingers and push forward and back on mouse pad to zoom.
* Q key - toggle the gun between Single shot and Rapid Fire modes.

MISSION
- Kill the growing microbe worms.
- If they get out of the containment area (touching the checkered boxes) you lose.
- If more than 9 spawn you lose automatically because the base becomes overrun (mainly because I think peeps computers would lag out)
- Try find the sweet spot for a kill, but bullets go through and through.
- Missing the sweet spot causes a worm to split into two.

There are 7 levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#522Theme(Jam)3.67
#568Audio(Jam)2.87
#587Fun(Jam)3.07
#632Overall(Jam)3.20
#853Innovation(Jam)2.60
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

good graphics! the sniper function works well the shot is good the multiplying worms is a great idea, nice work!

psychopsam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Awesome thank for the feedback :D

psychopsam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07pm

I have noticed that if worms get too big the bounding box hits the containment wall too soon. Will fix that soon

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Not very original but cool and fun to play. Mouse control could be more precise, though.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Have fixed the bounding box bug - so now you have more time before the worms escape.

paulfysh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Really impressive, getting a working FPS done in such a short time is no mean feat. Its also well executed and fun!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Didn't understand why I lose, but nice shooting game.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:24am

@LevReveur there is checkered wall either side of the compound. If the worms get there it's a containment breach - presumably they escape, the populace find out and the EPA shuts down the facility - or the other way to lose is too many spawn - I ran out of time to add a game over screen explaining that.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:25am

It was frustrating until I noticed that part about the sweet spot, then it was a fun sniper game. Also the worms look pretty gross. good job!

sbot1101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:16am

Good work. I liked the slow-mo killcam, that was unexpected.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:49am

Very cool little FPS, can't believe you guys did this in only 72 hours. Very impressive animations and graphics. Would have loved some music!

crucknuk says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Nice entry! The "sniper elite effect" is well done! Good job ;)

psychopsam says ...
Jan 6, 2016 @ 5:02am

Thanks y'all for your comments and suggestions. I really enjoyed making this. Might make it into an full game on time :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]