Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

HamsterX

by UntitledQ - Jam Entry

Piece together your spaceship to transport your hamster hero to space and glory!

Hectic and fun physics-based two-button game with online highscore.

Controls:
Left Arrow / Left Mouse Button: activate blue boosters
Right Arrow / Right Mouse Button: activate red boosters
Escape / Delete: quick restart


Made with Unity 5.3.0. Android build possibly coming soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#12Innovation(Jam)4.24
#29Fun(Jam)4.06
#66Overall(Jam)3.96
#72Humor(Jam)3.81
#94Theme(Jam)4.20
#394Graphics(Jam)3.67
#462Mood(Jam)3.28
#615Audio(Jam)2.71

Comments

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55am

I suggest you to change the name lol

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56am

I can't download the game.

Error: 404 Not Found
The URL you requested could not be found.

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Sorry about that, fixed the links.

We just had a short "oh shit" moment about the name, but then realized the site of questionable repute has it the other way around. We meant to allude to "SpaceX"...

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

Strangest idea...ever.... amazingly hilarious :D

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54am

The physics feel pretty good and I really like the low poly graphics. Although it's pretty easy to mess up your hamsters set up and waiting for your inevitable failure is rough.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

I have never known such hamstery glory. Great job with this!

yajiv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

This was awesome! I spent like 5 minutes trying to fly around with my crazy rocket contraption; ended up with 1428 points :D

Squid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00am

Good Fun!

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

o.O

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Funny game but.. just casual

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53am

My favorite entry yet! Got to around 3000... how high does it go?

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

We prepared up until about 3600, the milestone past the asteroid field, but it keep going and getting harder indefinitely.
Sadly, it appears we made the start of getting two boosters too difficult for most, judging by the highscore.

m3_on says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43am

I really liked the concept once I understood it but I kept getting confused while trying to align my rockets during the count down timer. But I found myself wanting to try over and over to save my hamster.

Caspila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46am

This was such a fun concept. Great job, I had a lot of fun, though I must admit that I suck at your game. Kind of a Kerbal Space Program feeling to it. Really liked the particle effects as well

filthsu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13am

Now this is just great. 5/5

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Crazy idea, hilarious result. Well done !

hydancer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

This is a pretty unique concept and it's kinda fun to play too. I found it too hard to keep going though and couldn't really get used to steering the hamster in the right direction. I feel like if the boosters gave you a more direct impulse related to where they should give you an impulse instead of primarily rotating the hamster this would be more interesting to play.

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Works really good, thank you for the fun!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Brilliant. More hamsters in games, please.

Suaave says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Really enjoyed this one. Hilarious idea and in addition to the two button controls, the aspect of the "growing" space ship is great. Nice combination! And cute hamster.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26pm

I really want to love this game.. but for all the fun its just so punishing.

Ive lost track of how many times ive shot up that hamster only to collect only the red or blue or none at all. you cannot control the hamster if you dont have both color jets.

My suggestion would be to start with one of each instead of the canon.

minor annoyances are with the collision on the wall. sometimes you get stuck against it and instantly destroys all your rockets.

Good entry in general and id love to see further development with the above mentioned fixes :D.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Awesome game, very different :)

An_error says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Hard, but fun.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

A very good concept, I like the graphics and the online hightscore! Good job!

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

The hamster, no! Lol, this was very good!

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44pm

nice little game, once i got the hang of it, it was not so difficult :) good work

Neoludo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:35am

Such a clever concept, and executed brilliantly. It was a bit finnicky attaching the boosters where you want them, but I suppose that was part of the charm.

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:17am

I spent a long time playing this game. It was very fun to keep trying to get higher and higher. I think that the highest I got was somewhere in the 1000s (where the red things that do damage start spawning). Excellent job overall!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:46am

Very impressive entry! It's quite difficult to get that first good start, but once you have a few well-placed rockets, it becomes very addicting very quickly! Great job!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:37am

I.. was so close, with only one rocket and one shield then.. http://imgur.com/40lD3Pt

Love the challenge had a ton of fun! Great use of theme with growing you rocket collection + shields, and trying to use both type of rockets to make some crazy system to keep flight.

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:46am

Brilliant.
Intense.
Inspiring.

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57pm

really funny idea and gameplay!
love it :D

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Very well done!
It reminds me of KSP, but more frantic. It is really hard in the beginning, but when you get the idea it is possible to get a descent score.
Looks nice (i love low-poly), and a lot fun to play!!

Good job!

Teekeks says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:18pm

So much fun, hit #13 on first try :D

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Really fun and solid game. I wish I was better at it, but from what I could see there's quite a lot of content and nice items that you can gather to build your Hamster-spaceship thingy. Great stuff.

I kept calling it xHamster. The stream discovered my dark side.

YinYin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Short moment of glory http://i.imgur.com/ZZ2xw8D.png

But I think I've seen 9k scores before? Does it clear periodically?

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:55pm

@YinYin: you are in fact the first person (we know of) to breach the 6000 cm mark -- even amongst us 3 developers and 3 testers. Congratulations!
We were not planning on clearing the highscore lists.


We're excited so many of you enjoyed the game this much and are considering further development over the coming holidays.

YinYin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:09pm

8222 cm B)

Really the most dangerous thing up there are those blasted rockets.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:57am

Hilarious. The time limit on placing the rockets really solidifies this game as something different than Kerbal Space Program. The additional to adding shields and additional obstacles was also a nice touch.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:15am

Awesome game! The way you assemble your ship on the fly is great. Only issue is that some times the new part gets a little buggy and the game freezes for a few seconds. PS: I made it to 10th place!

YinYin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Another component (and respective new button - yellow/green?) I'd like to see added in a future version:

A projectile module/gun. This module could aid in getting past the asteroids (in addition to the shields) as well as clear areas too crowded with unneeded modules (shoot them instead of equip and destroy). Similar to thrusters it could have a basic and a super version (super also adding a bit of recoil per shot, but for that destroying other objects with fewer shots).

You can even add destructible walls blocking the path and out of reach button mechanics with this.

Eingya says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:31am

Great concept. It does feel it would work a bit better with a way to control mid air during your first shot, and if you actually had 4 buttons to build your booster.

Still, very fun! Well Done!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:14am

Really frustrating to get started out but once you've got a decent little device going it gets interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]