Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Morse GRO

by GAFBlizzard - Compo Entry

WARNING, DIFFICULT TIMING GAME. Consider the post-compo version (I commented out one line) if you want to play through, but of course base your ratings on the original. I made the timing too difficult. :P



The GRO (Garden Research Overseer) initiative sounded so tempting. The pay was good, and you love gardens.
Unfortunately, they neglected to mention that you would not personally be visiting the garden.
Instead, it's off in space somewhere.

The orientation was light on details, but you did catch one thing --
the only way you can take care of the garden is by using a low-bandwidth remote link.

A very low-bandwidth link. So low that Morse code is the only option.

Before running for the door, your manager mumbled something about, "Supply space is pretty tight" and, "You may have to order more".
Your only hope is to raise all the garden plants to full growth. Only then, the contract said, can you go home.


F - Left button (or click with the mouse)
J - Right button (or click with the mouse)

The left button switches modes.
The right button enters Morse code. There is no penalty for having "dashes" that are too long.

In "Garden" mode (on the left), you can use supplies to feed plants.
Enter the matching letter to pick a supply, then enter the matching letter to pick a plant.

In "Order" mode (on the right), you can order more supplies.
Enter the matching letter combination to order supplies.

Morse code chart on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:International_Morse_Code.svg

Hold left button 5 seconds to restart in hard mode (all letters + numbers)
Hold left button 5 seconds to restart back in easy mode (A-H only).
Hold right button 5 seconds to restart in the current mode.



I ran out of time and did not put in music, sorry about that. I was able to finish most everything else though. I hope you enjoy playing it!

I had one huge lesson learned: Trying to do gapless MP3 looping is A HUGE PAIN. I probably wasted 4-5 hours on that alone. I finally had to do the most painful method, referenced here: http://blog.andre-michelle.com/2010/playback-mp3-loop-gapless/</a>

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#17Innovation4.24
#68Theme4.27
#220Humor2.96
#336Mood3.18
#357Graphics3.33
#377Overall3.36
#481Audio2.63
#617Fun2.97

Comments

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:23am

Cool little game! I like the story behind it,

Verrazano says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:23am

I think this game was actually pretty good. It was quite difficult and I got stuck trying to order water. But I really liked the theme, concept was good and storyline cheeky!

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44am

Nice work ! Thanks

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:54am

Great concept! A little too difficult however

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04am

Pretty unique concept here! Teaching morse code in a game is neat-- educational!

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49am

Really awesome dude!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55am

It is an interesting idea and the graphics is great. The game is a little different though I kept not being able to enter the dashes.

sitronTe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08am

Pretty nice. And difficult.

Conk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Very good! I feel like I even learnt a bit of Morse code! I like how the codes are randomized, but my first time I got CC for water restocking, that took me like, 3 minutes to do correct, but it was good practice! Very good use of theme too.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I just put up a post-compo version that comments out one line to make it eaiser: Now, the ordering combination waits forever so you don't have to time the space between letters. Sorry it was so difficult!

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Because you insist on judging on the original version (a somewhat fair point) I deducted 2* from Fun. Timing in between letters was very difficult for me. Now with the wait it becomes playable and I actually have some flowers to maintain :).
Nice story and I think this could be required fun for those learning Morse. Possible stuff for easy/(normal?/)hard differences (or options): the waiting in between letters and not changing codes for the products.

. - phone home, will never forget!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42am

Nice looking game... if only I could play it. I'm just not fast enough to get the required Morse code. Even the 'post-compo easy' version was difficult :(

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45am

Excellent game. Tough as hell, but excellent.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49am

Quite difficult, but a very interesting concept. All in all very innovative.

Goutye says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Great game! Really enjoy the retro graphics and sound. First time I was experiencing the Morse language so, a bit though. Difficult but I grew at least one!

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Interesting concept, but really hard...couldnt complete one morse code

tompudding says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Woohoo another morse game. It exciting trying to keep on top of everything and remember the morse at the same time, I thought the timing in the default game was fine, but then two people have told me my game is unplayably hard :|

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09pm

@tompudding I know the feeling. I checked and beat the hardest version of mine on the first try, but I know I made the game way too hard for people who aren't familiar with it. Sorry everyone!

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:44am

Really great, unique idea, too bad the game is this hard. Fun nostalgic LCD graphics, though.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:21pm

very interesting gameplay mechanic, it felt kind of cool having to switch tabs to the wiki chart before entering a command, almost like I was actually at the job, and I was having to look at the manual haha.

I liked the whole idea behind this, and with a little more polish I can see it being a fun little game, excellent work! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:21am

omg i won the game - nice work

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:19am

@SP0CkEr2 nice work! I only know one other person besides you who did. :P

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:32am

First of all, yes it's super stressful. If this was my job, I would like to be paid pretty well, haha ;)

But this is a REALLY good concept, and it's executed really well. I would love to see a full game like this, because I feel like there's a lot of room for amazing gameplay with this concept. The important part would be to give the player breaks, so they're not rushing during the whole gameplay.

Great work!

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:09pm

It was tough to keep up, but I felt like I was getting the hang of it enough to start a few plants off.

I think my biggest problem is the rhythm and pauses--even with the post-compo version it's hard to learn that from the written codes.

WolfkingW says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:27am

I found your game to be a quick yet involved challenge. It required me to focus on multiple issues all at once, such as typing in morse code to order water for my insatiable plants. Overall, I really enjoyed the direction you took the theme in! It was a clever, challenging game, and I think the art matched well with the game itself (after all, you're using an old fashioned morse-based machine). Nice job!

amras0000 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:58pm

The concept is really good and the detection of lines vs dots could be worse, but the game kept resetting my letter. The timing even on the post-compo version is incredibly precise, not just in terms of how long to hold a dash for, but just in getting all the symbols in before the game arbitrarily decided that my ..-. is actually a ..- and an E. I couldn't finish the game before I got too frustrated to keep going.
Given the low-bandwidth premise and the space aesthetic, I think sending 0's and 1's using the two buttons would've worked much better than trying to work with the morse timing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]