Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snekklr

by keepee - Compo Entry

Snekklr

physicsy snakes chomping on each other

Left and Right to turn, hold both to go forward and open jaw, release to chomp

play at http://keepee.itch.io/snekklr for a full screen button

This was gonna be fit both themes, grow and two button, but i never got around to implementing the growing. whoops

https://twitter.com/keepeetron

Blog post with a load more info:
http://keepeetron.tumblr.com/post/135230946811/snekklr-ld34-entry
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/14/s-n-e-k-k-l-r/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#49Innovation4.00
#155Humor3.21
#249Fun3.48
#296Theme3.95
#300Overall3.47
#357Graphics3.33
#633Mood2.75

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:47am

Nice, I played multiplayer with my friend and we got some good laughs out of it.

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

Nice physics! Your "dumb" AI tore me to bits right off the bat, lol. Controls are tough, but they fit the theme. Sweet art. Well done!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:24am

at first i didnt know if i should eat my self because the other snake was eating him self.

TsFreddie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:24am

The control feels solid. Great idea with great implementation.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41am

hahahah!! I loved it!! Its a fun game!!

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01am

Really fun game. I immediately bit my own tail on the first attempt.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10am

I love it! Really neat control system. Didn't take me long to snap my own neck by trying to eat the wall! Very entertaining.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38pm

I always bite myself, but the game is really nice and the style of the snakes is great!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

This is actually a really clever game, very simple but with a really high skill ceiling. The first time I played straight away the AI ripped itself apart so I thought that was the objective of the game. I will definitely find someone else to play with and come back to this game.

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

good game

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

sweet concept, so simple and effective! And the creatures are very lifelike in their movements somehow. I played against no-one and still lost! I can imagine this would be a very fun game with someone else. High marks from me.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50pm

really unique game!, the control feel so good and weird at the same times
i love it, the graphics quite nice too, this will be a great online multiplayer game
your AI kill itself btw :))

Knowledge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I would want to see post-compo version.
This version lacks music & sounds, that would make mood way better.
Also when I eat opponent's head mine disappears!

Anyway it's good game (I rated most fields with 3, which I use for good games that aren't really good).

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34pm

One of my favorite games thus far. Really like the gameplay/concept!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10pm

best game hands down

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Neato

keepee says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Thanks for the nice comments.

@Knowledge I was in a hurry to finish and there's a lot more to fix and add to this. I will definitely be continuing to dev this. I'll update the itch.io page in a week or so after the comp is over.

@Os_Reboot The AI is not really AI at all. It just randomly changes it's left/right input as if its a player pressing those keys. (lol)

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Good try. Nice physics. The AI was umm ... was the AI without the "I". Controls are hard, perhaps introduce a small delay so that you don't turn first when wanting to use both keys.

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09am

Nice controls et funny game. lack of finishing touch but promising concept. Would like to see a post-compo fo this one for sure!

im-oab says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

I like it. :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

Seriously good.

uvwar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

Pretty funny, AI promptly ate itself a few times. I like the mechanics, and that the body pieces look like those little wobbly plastic snake toys.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

Hehe. Cool. At first I just kept on spinning. Then I learned to bite... myself. But then I started to get a hang of it.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11am

Quite innovative. Sound would have been great. Fun with multiplayer but AI is dumb haha.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17am

Cool entry and nice physics. I played it a bit with my sister and we both wished there was more to it.

lawendt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Nice ideia!

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

Super cool concept, would love to see more!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

theses snekklrs(?) actually feel scary. with that pointy mouth, red toungue, and red lines. were those red lines between the body pieces acually meant from the start? or was it just because the physics draws the parts apart and you needed something to connect them? anyway, it looks pretty cool. and there's quite a lot in the mechanics. like the part that get bloody and part of your body or mouth(/beak?) that fall of. fun to play around with that.

also that simple effect of the two squares popping out works really well. gonna remember that one.

I'm not sure if multiplayer is the best thing for this game (got no else around now to test it, so can't really judge), but I hope you continue working on it. then I also wonder if you should keep the 2 button presses for the munch then. I know it's for the theme here, but it would probably work better with an extra button.

anyway, curious to see where this goes.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

jaws! that was the word I was looking for.
also, just read your post about extra features, good stuff!

keepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

@jeroenwimmers, thanks for the indepth comment

You're kinda right, the red muscles were not planned. The box2d physics joints I found to be buggy and limiting, so I decided to make my own. The muscles started off as debug markers so I could make sure my own joints were working, but they looked cool so I made em look like muscles.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/p8zb8v8j6nyric5/2015-12-12_15-03-05.mp4?raw=1

>I also wonder if you should keep the 2 button presses for the munch then.

That's what I'm thinking too.. extra buttons will make it easier to control, but I really value local multiplayer. Having as little controls as possible makes it easier for 2 people to use the same keyboard without keys conflicting.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36am

I love this...the jaws snapping shut provides a visceral satisfaction. It's a great mechanic, and I've rarely had this much fun with something so incomplete...please do more with this.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Innovation 5/5: Really innovative game!

Fun 4/5: It's really fun oto it your tail, your body and the rest of the snake's sgements. The Ai kills himself though. But don't worry, make a good AI ith aa lack of time is difficult :)

Theme 3/5: Not really well used. But used.

Graphics 4/5: Really consistent primitives.

Humor 4/5: As I said, ating your tail is funny.

Mood n/a: Not sure if intended.

Overall 4/5: That's the Ultimate Suicide Snake Simulator 2K16!

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:02pm

10/10 Computer ate himself. Would play again!

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55am

Awesome game! I played this with a friend and really enjoy it.

YoungHorses says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I like how the snekklr's are as dangerous to themselves as to each other. One wrong move and you somehow eat your own face off. Playing with AI, it always tries to eat its own tail until I get within chomping range.

GFM says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:09am

It's really a pity that you couldn't develop this further. I really liked the original idea and your planned features for the feature.

In my opinion, there should be a way to smoothly move and steer.
E.g.: Start by holding L+R to move forward. Release L to start steering right (but you gradually lose speed). Hold L+R once again, so velocity is regained and you go back to moving forward.

Split82 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Very nice idea! Some kind of winning conditions would be nice, I guess you just ran out of time. Good job anyway.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:31am

I loved this snake, it's super creepy. Implementations was very solid.

cameronpenner says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:06am

I ate my own face! Overall, pretty cool concept.

psychonull says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:36am

lol great idea and the way that you can eat your own body is awesome!, nice mechanics and graphics with audio could get pretty good. great job!

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Really great control scheme and gameplay idea - very clever use of both buttons. Simple but effective.

cudabear says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:00pm

I actually wish I had a friend to play with, because I can see a lot of potential for laughs here but I just didn't get it alone. You made a good attempt at making the AI, but it keeps eating itself, haha. Controls felt nice for being only two buttons, graphics are smooth. Good entry!

Tyler says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Great humor created just from the interactions! Great mechanic and graphics, would love to see if developed further!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]