Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Divide and Conquer

by Etag - Compo Entry

A tiny little game based on cell division. Try to fill all the white squares and leave the red squares empty. It has a (poorly implemented) online high-score system so you can compare with others. It only has a few levels, most of which are too easy.

If it crashes when running, start using run.bat, this will install the XNA redistribution packages then start the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2311Coolness14%

Comments

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I tried to run it and it wouldn't work. Even using the .bat file.

Etag says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I think the database might have gone down. Feel free to try it again if you want.

Gornova says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:50pm

is not working even for me :(
not the exe or the bat

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Its good to see people still using XNA - the last game I submitted to LD that used XNA was a flop because nobody wanted to run permanent installers to play one game.

The game crashed on run - I think you should do a post compo fix (this is allowed, btw, if you read the rules) so you can make it work even if the database has gone down. If you don't change the game mechanics and just let the game work with no database, it would be fine.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Sorry it crashed for me. I would like to see it work though. Leave a comment on my game if you happen to fix it Ill come here and recheck.

dkilford says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:07am

I managed to run this game without an issue, however I got stuck on level 6 because my cells keep on disappearing without any kind of feedback.

I liked what I played though, I think the concept is good.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Nice idea, but the puzzles are extremely simple, I played the 6 lvls without fully understanding the mechanics.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

I couldn't get past level 1? Like, I beat it, but the arrow to go to the next level didn't seem to work. The game didn't crash because the reset button still worked.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I agree-- the puzzles are just too easy. Basically I just click until all the white squares are filled and the red ones seem to eliminate themselves as long as there is a white one adjacent. It could also use a tutorial it took me a minute to figure out how everything worked.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:39pm

The game works fine on my computer and I think it has the potential to be more interesting. The levels are clearly too easy =/ And I wasn't to understand how to empty red spaces.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]