Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

New Planet

by GanonsSpirit - Compo Entry

Build a new planet using pre-made actions! Depending on the order you choose things and which exclusive options you choose, the world develops and grows. The game is unfinished and thus only has two sets of actions.

Everything is controlled with the mouse. When you hover over an action, you can see what it does in the top right corner.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#548Innovation3.05
#625Theme3.55
#685Mood2.67
#731Graphics2.60
#750Fun2.74
#849Overall2.74
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

I liked what I saw, but I think it may have buggd out in era 4

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Fun little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/p3nh2TkdCXs

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33pm

At the beginning I liked the idea a lot. But then I realized nothing hardly happens after doing two sets of allowed moves.
Nice game idea however!

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:16am

Really cool to see this kind of a "grow" game in Ludum Dare. I like art style and the animation for transitioning to a new era.

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:14pm

It's fun, but it's unfortunate that it ends / bugs in era 3. It would be cool to see how humans, animals and plants evolve over a long period of time depending on who you want to favor. I wish it was possible to skip certain actions like the meteor and the drought.

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Hmm... very nice but it seems it stops on era 3, but anyway I loved it :D

Os_Reboot says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Interesting concept, solid graphics. Nice job!

beastletsplay says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:52am

Since it isn't finish i can't give a good score.

scorched says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Not bad idea to see Earth developed, just lacks actual challenge for the player

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]