Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lab Rat

by someone - Compo Entry

Puzzle platformer game.
Two button controls: left and right to move. That's it!
Also R to reset the level and M to mute the music.

Unfortunately I didn't manage to finish the character animations in time due to an irritating bug in the library that took far too long to fix.

Edit: Added a post compo version that has the animations and updated levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#54Theme4.30
#140Innovation3.75
#213Audio3.25
#254Mood3.32
#330Fun3.35
#345Overall3.40
#359Humor2.63
#688Graphics2.70
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25pm

This mechanic works really well for me. I got through a good few levels before I got completely stuck :)

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I like the level design and the potion concept, but it's not always easy to understand which platforms you can climb and which ones you can't (based on your size I assume). Maybe an explanation or a couple more "teaching" levels before moving on to the shrinking potions.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15am

I love a good puzzle game, this one is a lot of fun. The music is great, fits right in. The art is pretty too, the controls do feel a bit "fast" and the character jumps when you don't want it to. Overall really fun :)

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06pm

interesting concept.. sometimes I was like 'ah.. you can do that... ok'

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Fun mechanic, really liked it!

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:33pm

The mechanics were decent, but the jumping was a bit random.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Good puzzle game, interesting mechanics, good atmospheric music. Gets quite hard fast, I got stuck after a few levels on the one where you got the two cracked tiles in front of you at the beginning.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39pm

very complete, the mechanics work well and the puzzles are interesting not too easy not too hard.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:23pm

It was very fun, but... Is the last level impossible? I tried about every possible combination of grow/shrink. There seems to be no way to actually finish it. Please make a playthrough, please I am puzzled (no pun intended) by how this is solvable.

It's a great game though, don't get me wrong. I had fun. :)

davidB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:42pm

+1 for the level design

ragnta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice game! Good level design. Perfect

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:45pm

This was cool! At first I wasn't sure how much level design you could do with just left and right but yeah you nailed it!
Music was cool too

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Great use of the theme. I couldn't figure out the level with the button at the bottom and the door at the top right!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]