Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kubka

by rujo - Compo Entry

Kubka is a game where you control a little cube with two buttons through 9 levels.

With the two buttons you choose the size of the cube (small or big) in order pass though obstacles and complete the level without falling down or hitting walls.

You can use the on screen buttons or the left/right arrows on the keyboard.

It's raccomended to play on mobile by clicking on "mobile" link directly from your phone.

Thank you form playing my game, please rate and comment it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#33Theme4.38
#103Innovation3.83
#143Fun3.65
#169Overall3.68
#274Graphics3.50
#476Audio2.64
#503Mood2.93
#582Humor2.13

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09am

A cool game. The atari cartridge seems a little strange to me though, as this seems more like a very old mobile phone game than an atari game.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Man, that second jump on the 3rd level was hard to pull. really enjoyed the mechanics. Well built

ajopart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Simple and clever. Good job !

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Nice game, but the music is way to loud o.O

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Nice game! It runs really well. Haven't tried it on mobile yet, but it's nice to see you're considering people playing on their phones.

Unfortunately I'm horribly bad at such games, so by the time I got to level 5, it was already quite difficult for me, haha. The style is very nice looking. Some music during the game would have been a nice addition, but all in all a very competent entry. Well done!

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:27pm

This definitely seemed more like a pre-smart phone mobile game. It was nice. Hard, but nice. The graphics were consistent and refined, the audio was repetitive and annoying but it was at least a game and definitely pulled off the whole growing & 2button thing. Good job.

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Fun game and idéa. The portrait mode made the game a bit harder in a way I didn't like. Landscape mode and an overall speedup would be better I think.

kmakai says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Fun! Would definitely play more levels.

rplnt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Very nice looking game. Plays good as well. Would like to see a bit more to the right, this way it is more about memory and repeating than about timing. But maybe you tried it and this works best.

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Pretty cool game, nice approach to the growing and two button controls

okusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:10pm

A simple game but very very cool!! And I love the sound effect!:)

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Fun to play but get's really hard after level 5, I got stuck at level 7.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Really enjoyed this one, nice original idea and super presentation - sounds fit the aesthetic, good job! Level design is good, certainly up until level 6 it was fun to replay to get it right. It's nicely done so you can see straight away what you should have done, and the rest is a test of memory.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Great idea and fun to play. Minimal graphics work well here. Nice entry :)

Rscar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Wow! I'm so impressed with the level of complexity you were able to get in your level design with such a simple mechanic. Really fun!

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Very cool. Good effort put into the level design. I actually love the art style! Overall a very cool idea!

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Really difficult. Had fun though

dusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11pm

nice game
little bit trial-error in later levels

Zemmi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

This turned out really well. Although I had fun I agree with daandruff that landscape view would be nice as I want to anticipate the needs of the level a little more. Also Kubka is a great name and using the grow as a ledge grab in lvl 10 was pretty nifty.

foodzilla says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24am

Interesting idea, although not as engaging as I'd like.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:38am

Starting from level 3 game becomes a bit hardcore.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Very well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XuTLfsOkf7k

jim3wg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice game ! Run well , and fun to play

domo_demo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:01am

oh boy, what a nice use of the theme! that's really good, but really difficult ;) maybe a 16/9 ratio can let us see what happen next. i like the idea of two kind of jump!

razveck says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:30am

Really fun, I very much enjoyed the graphic style, reminds me of those old game "toys" that had these simple little games

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Very well executed except for the few portions where the only way to progress is to get lucky or trial and error instead of skill. (Making a jump and then, oh, there's a wall at the end of this upper section. That kind of thing. Impossible to plan for.)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]