Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

All Sorts of Spooky

by dkilford - Compo Entry

All Sorts of Spooky!

An action adventure high score game. Collect coins, avoid spikes and graves!

Controls: A/D or LeftArrow/RightArrow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Fun4.00
#31Overall4.09
#61Graphics4.17
#143Audio3.48
#145Mood3.55
#233Theme4.00
#259Innovation3.52
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Wow what a great game! The graphics is very nice and colorful, the control is very tight (found that out when being chased by the ghost). Does this game just goes on forever and it procedurally generates the levels? I was up to world 5 and it didn't seem like there are new mechanics. The only thing I would nit-pick on is that the health was quite hidden. At first I thought the length of the character is the health but then I found that the health was actually hidden behind the score after some trial and error. Also I found out I can skip level by going to the left most of the map :) Anyways, very lovely and well designed game. Well done!

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30am

Made it to world 4 on my longest run. I like how there is no time limit so it allows you to think about the optimal move for score. I didn't realize where the health was until I read the above comment just now, but that was really the only issue I had. I can imagine myself getting into a zen with this and playing it for long stretches.

mattrified says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23am

I like the combination of trying to get score and to the furthest level. There's a funny strategy that involving going all the way in one direction until you just past every floor. Obviously, you won't get a good score doing that, but it's still funny. Level introductions were good too; the level with the bad guy was introduced but with no spikes.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54am

Ya nice game dude. I thought the game was unfinished when I came to the end of level 1 but was pleasantly surprised when it continued :D

deadpixl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Awesome game! I loved everything about it, I did feel you could just cheese it buy just going all the way to the edge the entire time, it would be cool if the level just looped left to right. I really enjoyed the ghost mechanic and I really liked visuals!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

The music was very relaxing and the game play was excellent! Audio and Graphics were very good.

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Nice entry! Great chiptune sounds and the ambience is pretty cool. Good job! :-D

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Holy crap this is good! The controls are responsive, the graphics are great, and the music/ambient sound is awesome!
This is the first entry I played I have nothing bad to say about.
Really good job!!!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:04am

I really like the feel of this game. It just sort of has a nice atmosphere. The only real thing I would want is a way to regenerate health, but I get why that's not there.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:48am

Really cool! I made it to world 5.

AboLD says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:33am

Very nice game, the art is brilliant and the gameplay is good, well done dude

mar3k says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Nice game!

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:23am

This is one of my favorite entries! I thought it was pretty cool going through world 1, and then when I fell off the end of the world I thought to myself "Well that was neat." Then world 2 appeared, at which point I immediately set off a ghost, and then another, and then ended up trying to run away from them in an intense chase. Bravo!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Great loop for the two button controls. It just works. Liked the look (would have desired something other than a "cube" for the protagonist), the sounds, animations and effects were all nicely done. Great entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]