Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super-Bubba-Awesome-Space

by Roffe - Jam Entry

We made a small 3D space-shooter game in our own game-engine called Bubba-3D. Your mission is to destroy 50 of the asteroids in this system. Be aware that you do not have any shields. One hit will destroy you. Use w and S to thrust, A and D to rotate, P and L to change altitude and R to fire the laser.

It's built cross platform but we only provide executable for debian distributions and Windows (windows version includes no sound, sorry). Lib requirements for compiling is presented at the github page.

Linux:
Start by executing ./Super-Bubba-Awesome-Space

Windows:
There is a executable in the bin folder

Hope you have fun playing!

Credits:
Viktor Sjölind
Johan Nilsson Hansen
Simon Lindhén
Sebastian Norlin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#623Graphics(Jam)3.24
#660Audio(Jam)2.48
#759Humor(Jam)2.14
#868Innovation(Jam)2.58
#938Overall(Jam)2.79
#1016Fun(Jam)2.35
#1081Theme(Jam)2.22

Comments

zesterer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

Awesome. You're one of the only Linux developers I've seen around here (I'm one too, although I cross-compile for Windows). Good work. I'm impressed that you went for something 3D (Is it made using raw OpenGL? I would presume so). Although I would say that it's a little hard to control the ship, and also the specular shader component looks a bit odd on the ship (way too smooth). But it's definitely a good effort.

Roffe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Thank you :)
Yeah the controls are a bit wonky most of the time went innto the engine. Would love some tips on crosscompiling!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Here's my tip on x-compiling: don't build your own engine lol... But enough sass from me. I am a sucker for spaceship games so I liked this entry, but I am still going to give constructive criticism. The spaceship's material was a bit lacking. The skybox looked great, but then I noticed the SEAMS in the corners :| Controlling the ship was a little jerky and could use some work. The planets were spinning a little too fast. But my main complaint about the game play itself is that it's very hard to aim. This NEEDS a reticle or indicator for aim of some kind.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Alright! Another space shooter :D great work! I made mine in unreal but that is awesome you made your own engine. Great effort!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Very nice game we always need more space shooters :)

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Pretty decent game. However I think its pretty short and the controls were a bit wonky. But I liked the graphics. First "actual self made 3D game" I've seen so far. Like all the other ones probably dont even know what a matrix is. Also I would rather choose to rate Mood instead of Humor

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Own engine? That's impressive. For me the biggest issue was camera angle, it was really difficult to estimate ship position in relation to asteroids. You could also consider adding some audio (or perhaps it was intended because sound doesn't propagate in space?:P)

Roffe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Actually, we made the game with sound but we had some problems cross compiling so the sound only works in linux at the moment

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Controls are a bit rough, but it's still a fun play. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Kudos for using your own engine!

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39pm

GOOD ENOUGH

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42pm

I was testing buttons and I suddenly "Won" the game. O_O

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:30pm

It's very hard to aim and I can barely see the laser on my screen which doesn't help.
But definitely kudos for doing your own 3D engine!

As for the Linux package you don't need to install the dev versions of all libs. It works fine with just the libraries.

vispen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Super fun, nice work!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:33pm

You have done it with your own engine, that is incredible. The game has good graphics, but the gameplay and controls need some fixes. I enjoy it :-) Nice job and keep improving!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:57am

Suddenly mission success? Not sure why, it jumped from like 4 to 54 asteroids at once.

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Very fun, Good work. took me a little bit to get the hang of the controls, but nothing too bad

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]