Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vines

by Stfan - Compo Entry

A small puzzle game where you have to escape a factory using Vines. Made using puzzlescript.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#26Theme4.40
#38Innovation4.07
#137Overall3.73
#159Fun3.63
#181Mood3.46
#274Graphics3.50
#543Audio2.50
#569Humor2.17

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

This is cute! The use of the theme with the vines is really well-done. Good work!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Really nice concept! The plant that grows only in the light must have been hard to code :o (based on my programming skill level of course). It could be a hit if you develop this more, I'm sure!

rogual says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Nice. The vines are really well done. I did find it hard to line things up mentally to predict where the light would go, so I think the difficulty could use some work, at least in the beginning.

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Awesome mechanic + a few neat little puzzles. Love it!

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Clever concept, I really enjoyed it! Shame it was so short though.

petersbob says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Awesome mechanic. The vines and light is such a cool idea. You should really build this into something bigger.

Indiestry says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Oh this is adorable, really nicely done visually

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Nice work! I really like this. It's simple, yet fun and clever. I could see a whole game being made out of this idea. Get to it! :P

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:51pm

I like this game mechanic, and the way the light creates patterns makes the game look really cool. Nice!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Short, sweet, easy to understand. I have to admit I didnt know what to do when I started but when I figured out the mechanic with the light and the vines I couldnt help but smile. Nothing super innovative mechanically but hell theres a reason we feel nostalgic for the classics.

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Very clever little puzzle game! I wish it was longer!

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:12pm

I like the mechanic and graphics.
Good job!

maartene says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:13pm

the light -> grow vines mechanic is very cool.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Very well done!
The concept is simple but addicting, and the puzzles are very nice. It also looks good!
With some more work this could be a full game!

lurils says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:26pm

really interesting mechanic and very well crafted puzzle, would definitely play more hah.

domo_demo says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:30pm

really clever, well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]